Thread: 'Knot Knowledge'

'Knot Knowledge'

If their is one part of my fishing that is laking, its my 'Knot Knowledge'. When ever i hit the water, i use only about 3 or 4 diff types of knots, all i have done fairly well on with both lures and bait. But i want to learn 1 or 2 more.

Knots i currently use - Blood, Uni, Palomar, Surgeons, Hangmans.

Ive been looking all over for a pic and instructions on how to knot up a 'Perfection Loop' for lures and what-not. Now ive got a few pics and instructions on it, but it just wont work! Could someone maybe supply a good set of instructions or maybe a few pics aswell for me? That would be much appreciated. Just note that i only use Mono - once my boss gives me a raise per hour then i will change to braid - but for the moment its good old Platypus Super 100 and Maxima.

Also, 'The Spider Loop'... thats another one im having difficulty with. The instructions i have got for it are horendous, and it just wont work for me. If some could shed a little light on this knot aswell id be over the moon.

Cheers everyone

TinarooTriumph
    TT

Re: 'Knot Knowledge'

I thought that a spider hitch was really the clinch knot that we all know well, except that you go through the motions with the line being doubled-up instead of doing it for a single line....and the first loop we form is where the eye of the hook would normally go if we were going to tie a standard clinch knot. The 'tag' end of the spider hitch is really the same as the tag of the clinch knot.....but because the spider hitch's tag is a doubled line that's joined together at the end, this 'tag' forms the loop of the spider hitch.

The problem with a spider hitch (I think) is it can be messy and not form nicely, and hard to control the loop size.

The perfection loop is not too bad, but I also find it fiddly to form.

http://www.tackleworld.com.au/Main%20Pages/knots_2.htm

The non-slip mono loop (I think it's aka rapala loop) is kind of ok too....fairly easy to control the loop size. The only thing I don't like about the non-slip mono loop is that it doesn't seem to like the line getting hard-tensioned repeatedly....and I've found it prone to busting if it gets a bit of a work-out. Although, if the drag is set accordingly, this knot will do just fine. You probably know this knot already.....

http://www.redchaser.com/monoloop.htm

I think the 'non-slip' part of the name is a bit cheesy because it's not in the same league as the strongest and most reliable fishing knots.

Cheers mate.

I followed the links, printed them both of, and i will try both in the morning and see how i go. If any1 has any modified versions of these knots post them.

Cheers again mate.

Theo

TT

Hey Theo

I reckon you can have too many knots. The ones I use now are:

uni knot for all terminal tackle ( though the palomar is probably a better knot)
    braid leader knot
    double uni for a specialised paternoster rig (reviewing this at the moment)
    surgeons knot for sinkers on paternoster rig
    non-slip loop knot http://www.bigtackle.com/images/knots/rapala.gif
    bimini twist
    haywire twist and barrel roll for wire.

Well! that's a longer list than I thought. It would be good to see what others use consistently.

Hi Tinaroo Triumph here is a pic of the perfection loop hope this helps
    Ken

freddy hahahahaha.....that pic is sure kind of small hehehe

Tony ..... I think that the trilene knot (they also call it two-turn clinch knot etc) is probably tougher than the palomar knot. After the trilene knot is tied (in mono line), and after it's been given a bit of a work-out....where the coils form a tight ribbon around the standing line, and when the two loops around the eye become so tight to form a ribbon....that's when the trilene shows it's incredible toughness.

On penn 10X line, I've noticed that a properly-worked/tightened trilene can often be as tough as the line.....so if you pull really hard and *fast* on say....penn 10X, 15 pound line, the line can snap between terminals and the knot stays intact. And this is for a short line.... eg. 35 cm long. For lower quality mono line, it's reasonably easy to break the line with the knot holding nicely during a FAST pull-to-destruction test. But on penn 10X line....a really tough knot is needed to see the line bust instead of the knot busting. I think the reason why the trilene knot is so tough is because it gets tighter and tighter around the eye the more the knot is worked. And the lines in this knot don't have that much awkward bends in it. It's also got two loops, which probably helps to distribute the stresses better in and around the eye area. The palomar also has two loops, except I don't think the palomar tightens up as well as the trilene knot.

Although, naturally, a trilene knot can have a problem if it's not tightened up properly, or hasn't formed correctly. But this knot seems to have good chance of forming properly - maybe due to its simplicity, it can be tied quite consistently. The two-turn clinch knot (some call it trilene knot) is one of the toughest terminal knots I've seen.

wayne_cook

TT if ur having trouble with ur per. loop.
    It is the same as ur grand father knot in rope but do a granny in stead of a loop to make the rabbit hole.

G'day fella's

Gave the Non-Slip Mono knot a go today, and it worked! I was overjoyed - for some stupid reason - but finally i got it to work. Gave the Perfection Loop another go before but it just doesnt work for me, alot of friggin round with that bloody knot.

When i was giving the Non-Slip Mono knot a go today down at the local weir today, i was just casting lures around, practising my casting. No fish around though, so i thought id run back home, grab some heavy gear (30lb line) along side a tough rod and reel and instead of casting the old raggy lure into the water, i thought id test my knots out and cast into a nice big gum tree . Got it back all 3 times... what was i thinking tho... lol.

The NSM Knot worked on nearly all my lures, bar the Lipless Kokoda G-Vibe. This is a lure im having abit of difficulty to work. Its head just faces down at the ground and its bum points up in the water. Any1 got any suggestions on how to make it look like a normal lure in the water, instead of a lure trying to carry a bag of cement on its back?

Thanks for your help fella's

Theo
    TT

Great to hear that the NSM loop worked for you theo. Yeah ....seems to be less messing around with the NSM in forming it compared to the perfection loop.

Tinaroo, I think your problem is that you are spending too much miney on tyres. Can get quite a lot of braid for the cost of a burnout.

I am almost the same as Tony with the knots I use. Braid leader knot, and uni. That is about it for normal fishing. Why use too many if uni is fast and easy and proven to be one of the best for terminal tackle. I stilluse uni to uni for leaders if I am in a hurry.

Cheech - Im getting that ute when im 18, and the way its going it wont have any tyres on it when it gets handed over . I am very keen to purchase some braid soon - local Tackle Shop is a P-Line outlet, and i could probably get a 500m spool of it prettty cheaply. Luckily we get free BF Goodrich tyres so we wont go broke mate .

I am the same as most of you - i only really use 1 knot - Uni!. Except it can have a effect (minor effect) on how your lures do really peform under water. I noticed a big difference this afternoon when i was using a cheap GH Signature lure tied with a Uni, then changed to a NSM and i noticed the lure just 'freed up' a little, giving it a little more chance to wibble and wobble and what not.

Any idea on how to tie a good knot for a Lipless lure to work properly?.

Theo
    TT

Yep....I think if the BLT is very reliable, then for me, my knot choices would be BLT, uni, and NSM. NSM is for flies or lures where a small loop can make the fly or lure produce a more lively action. The NSM's loop size is relatively easy to control, and it's not too fiddly to tie, so makes it fairly good for putting on lures.

For terminal tackle, there's definitely nothing wrong with the uni at all. It is cool. Although, if you need an even stronger terminal knot, then my recommendation would be two-turn clinch (aka trilene knot). On mono, not too many knots beats the two-turn clinch in brute strength. (eg....some folks reckon the palomar knot is strong....but that's nonsense in my opinion....the palomar is not that strong on either mono or gelspun, and besides....AS IF you can get a super strong fishing knot by just doubling a line and then tying a SINGLE overhand knot....yeah right! But it's strong enough to catch fish, so I guess it's quite sound...but definitely not the strongest of fishing knots.). Trilene knot is extremely easy to tie as well, and threading the line through the eye twice in the correct way is actually really easy to do.

Hi Kenny sorry the pic is so small Ive had another go at it hope this one is better
    Ken

Well that didnt work I will try again
    Ken