Thread: isn't winter great ? 24th

isn't winter great ? 24th

Finished work a little early tuesday arvo, and with the trees not moveing and a late high tide and the full moon just gone .
    i just had to good and try for a tailor.
    I was in the water at almost 5pm and the water was like oil.
    the run to the pin was quick and quiet, got to the spot had the place to myself. there were a couple boats around crusoe island and that was a bout that.
    but from the cross-over to the bar was not a boat to be seen.
    ( their lose)
    traveled lite this trip.
    had my flathead rod a scaler, 2 spare sets of tripples 6 or 7 sinkers and an esky.( and bait,)
    forgot my knife.
    anyway was a little slow to start but it was still a bit too light.
    as it got dark, well as dark as a full moon will allow, got my first hitand fish.
    good fish i thought !
    but first glance it didn't look like a tailor?
    35cm whiting on a 3x3/0 gang with a pilly?
    as the night went out of the 1kg pack of pillies. i only lost 2 baits and got no fish for it.
    so was a good trip in the water by 5pm bagged out by 8:30pm and headin home.
    tally was 2 whiting 35cm and a 29cm, 5 flathead all legal ( they went back for september.)
    1 40cm stingray.
    and last my 20 tailor to 35cm.
    i did catch 4 just unders in the tailor as well.
    so if you count that the total tailor was 24.
    heres the horse whiting.

Cheers Cloud 9

P.S. i rang everyone looking for a decky before i went and no one could come.
    Peter ya should have come.
    then it realy gets ughly

Re: isn't winter great ? 24th

and the whole catch
    cheers Cloud 9
    then it realy gets ughly

CHRIS_aka_GWH

damn good feed - its always nice when a plan goes to plan.

I still remember some blokes post a year or so back describing the pin as a "fished out place" Top catch cloud 9.

jeez, nice one mate. bloody unreal

Top report Cloud_9 #[smiley=2thumbsup.gif] I'm hoping there still be some horse whiting lurking around on Friday and Saturday night # (King of the PIN)
    Pin fish out ? Hah..... just got to pick your time and place #
    Damo.

great job they must have been thick out there

Top catch of choppers there mate, hows the whiting, gang hooks .. lmao. You've certainly been puttin in the time lately

Jas

a mate went out today and the coppers where smashing the surface all over the place with 15-20 boats chaseing the schools casting slugs and stuff at them.
    he managed 10 on snapbacks.
    good sounders will show up the schools sitin just off the banks getting a feed.
    i sounded 2 big schools of fish that id say where tailor, when i was getting to my anchoring spot.
    therehave been some big fish caught between the power lines and about halfway down south straddie, have herd of 8-9 Lb fish being picked up.
    good luck to those chaseing them. last of the incoming tide, with night and early morning peak times.
    cheers Cloud 9.
    then it realy gets ughly

how on earth do you get a whiting on a ganged pillie?
    nice report and fish

Last time I was down there the tailor were boiling but wouldn't touch a thing...........nice going cloud 9.

Yeah, top stuff Jamie.

Got a quick recipe for those Tailor Jamie.

Don't bleed them, just fillet them, salt them down, and freeze ready for the bream season, they make great bait !

NAH ! good report there fella !

Ya had me stumped when ya said the " full moon had just gone ". AS my sources say, full moon WAS ON Tuesday night !

Nice whiting, though !