Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Swains Reef Bonanza 2005 !

Re: Swains Reef Bonanza 2005 !

good sized snapper from 100m of water

Some monster perlies were caught this is a smaller one

conditions at the 100m mark # the piccie doesn't show the true height of the swell about 3 - 4 meters but spread apart in about 5 knt winds #

some nice spangled emperor rare but fought hard and dirty

This was one of two released reds about 1cm short of leagl (one was Stubbies), it was a bit of a let down not to land at least a few legal reds, so we had to re-book for August next year #

The crew with the haul from the last day

The haul back at the wharf as mentioned earlier about 227 fish or about 30 + fillets each enough to be satisfied without over doing it.

I would have to say 30lb gear is OK but I wouldn't be fishing lighter than 50lb as there were a few fish lost even on the 50lb gear Fishing in 100m of water really showed us how much of an advantage the Braid brigade had over us whilst feeling every bight on the braid the mono failed to pick up but the most serious of bites # so a reel of mono for shallow reef areas and a reel spooled with braid if you can afford it i'd have to recommend fishing this area.
    Damo.
    Bring on 2006 only 370 + sleeps

Hey mate sounds like you did reasonably well. We did about the same but did not get any snapper or pearlies, got a fair few chinaman and barramundi cods that had to be put back. On the other hand we did get some reds, wouLd have had a few more if we had not had them eaten by monster groper on the way up . What was the boat like as I will probably book out of gladstone next time as the drive from Brissy to Mackay is a bitch

M22,

The Australiana was a great boat, ample dining area pleanty of fishing space even with 13 down one side comfy beds, but bring earplugs if ya go it was pretty noisy on the way out were i slept either that or a bottle of rum to knock yourself out that night # mate Dan and Wally are deadset ledgends you won't be disappointed
    Damo

krtazy

well done mate it looks like you had a great time.

Ah the swains brings back lots of memories from last year. What a great trip it is not just for the fishing but the socialising and meeting new people. Good to see you bagged a few. Not heaps but a good feed. I heard some boats coming back with over 500 last year and one of em is the KANIMBLA!.....Thats a slaughtering not just a feed! And what made it worse all the blokes were proud of their catch. Over kill if you ask me! Looks like you blokes did well, good stuff!

Shane

cHiCo

Great report and pics, damn about the Reds, but think about how big they will be next year

Stubbie looking impressed with his flea Coral Trout

Me looking equally impressed or a bit under the weather #[smiley=shocked2.gif] [smiley=smug.gif] [smiley=dizzy.gif] [smiley=drunk.gif] #
    Not my spaniard but the best of the trip at 13.5kgs
    Record for the boat is a 24kg Spaniard