Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hinze Dam Bass by Kayak (Pics added)

chanquetas

Hinze Dam Bass by Kayak (Pics added)

First time at Hinze today, in the water by 0500. Chucking poppers everywhere and didnt get a thing, although I had a few strikes. Im not very experienced at the freshwater fishing and I think I was a bit fast in the retrieve. Need more practice obviously.

Anyway, after a while changed over to the old faithful, my number 1 favourite, most successful, most versatile lure, the Manns Stretch No.5+ in pink, aka Dr Death.

Within 60 secs I had a huuuuuge strike. BANG....line was reeling off, the rod was bent. Woohoo! This is what we came for. I fought him for a while then finally up comes a lovely 37cm Australian Bass. He's into the esky, as Ive been keen to try a good freshwater fish.

5 minutes later......BANG.......another one's on. Dr Death does the damage again! 35cm...released.

Spent the next hour or so trolling around trying to emulate this performance but to no avail. The bass were definitely OFF the chew....

Finally had enough so headed back to the ramp, on the way back had another visitor with about a 30cm Bass in the boat. Released.

On final approach to the boat ramp thought Id troll pass this nice steep wall, again with Dr Death, and HOLY CRAP....some MONSTER just grabbed my lure, shook his head and nearly threw me out of the kayak. Normaly with my drag on pretty tight, trolling a lure, get a hook up and you drag the fish toward you.....well this time I hooked up and was being dragged back to the fish...
    I had heard that the biggest bass to come out of Hinze was around 50cm, but this had to be bigger....I was certain. So the fight was on....head shakes......line runs....zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzztttt tttttttttttttt..........more head shakes....wow..this was cooooolllll..... .