Thread: CAIRNS - 08/10/05

Ausfish Platinum Member scuttlebutt's Avatar

CAIRNS - 08/10/05

Went out to the reef this morning - can't stay home with the present forecast, and even though it's a bit hard to get out of bed early, the sunrise makes it worth while..

Re: CAIRNS - 08/10/05

so got to the reef at 6am, and started trolling a couple of gars and two wolf herring. First a double hookup on the gars with spaniards around the 5 to 6kg mark, then got toasted on one of the wolf herring (which dropped it after a decent run) and took another hit to land an average spaniard around 10kg....

There were a few birds working so had some fun with small Mac-tuna before going over the reef shallows casting deep divers. Got a nice trout on a mad mullet and 20 pound braid....

then fished some deeper stuff with baits and got another six trout including a couple of fattys. Pretty good day all considered, nice and flat, though did blow up a bit in the arvo around 4pm and got rained on coming home.

steve

Why would anyone bother fishing in those conditions!
    Looks like you had one of those near perfect days on the water steve!
    Good on ya...foxy

Nice fish Steve!

Where did you head North?

Shafty

Awesome catch, Im thinking about moving up that way in about 2 years (parents keep bugging ma about having kids so Im moving further away)though havnt done much fishing up there. What distance to the reef are you travelling?

Am up there for 2 weeks as from Tomorrow.

Need a couple of deckies? CALL ME !!!!

Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

nice haul Steve. Did you get out today? Was anothr cracker on the water.

cheers, Mark.

Yeah well the good weather looks like hanging around for another couple of days. Had a lay-day today but heading out again tomorrow morning early.

Shafty, we headed north from Yorkeys - that should narrow it down enough! Ended up being a good plan too with these northerlies!

Devo, the trip out to that reef is about 40km, but the closest reef to Cairns is about 30km. I love it- especially being able to try a few different things like trolling, throwing lures at pelagics, luring over the reef flats, bottom fishing etc. It's a beatiful place!

steve

good stuff steve......We didnt fair all that well sun night....Sharks were everywhere which were a pain in the ass.

Good fish mate good to see the trout still around in good numbers.

Shane

shane, yeah we got a few trout but we had to work for them (if you call floating around on the GBR in great conditions working for them). Not much current about.

steve

40km is awesome I reckon to the reef. The outer reef is so far away here in Bowen we have to travel twice that distance. Oh well thats another tick in the box for me

boyzie

nice fish how far offshore were you ?