Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Phill's 1770 Round-Up !

Phill's 1770 Round-Up !

OK, I will keep this short.

First effort was to retrieve ‘ Skanky Hoe “ #from Bugman at Awonga Dam on Friday. Roz came along for the trip to test out her new rod and 20 year old Abu reel. #Brett took us around the traps, like a good guide should, but we failed to land that elusive Barra that he had donged during his week there. #He kept telling us that we were catching ' Antler ' fish. Apparently that means we were hitting the trees more so than the water . #DOH ! #Met up with Awonga and Col-J who had scored a few. #Also met Jason ‘ birdie ‘ Bird at the ramp. He and his brother had boated ( C & R ) 15 Barra for the day.

That Dam is a good option for the 1770 trips as it is less than an hours drive there.

Team “ReBait #arrived on Saturday morning ( Carlo & Ray ), with thedeckie, ( Paul ), turning up that afternoon due to Vet commitments, in Brisvegas. #The boys hit the water before they had unpacked. #Minimal result, but still fish in the freezer. #Roz convinced me to get muddy and to set the crab pots up some sandfly, mosquito infested creek. Thanks.

Over the next few days, ReBait fished the close reefs and the Wides.

Tuesdays effort for the 5mile and Banana Gutters were light on :-

With Hussar, Red Throat, Coral Trout and 10kg’s of Cobia covering the bottom of the esky.

The Wides produced 2 good days of fishing with Wednesdays effort going like this:- #

35 Hussar
    6 Parrot
    6 Kingies
    1 Moari Cod
    3 Nannygai ( best 4kg + ) to Roz
    2 Red Emperor
    1 School Mack
    3 Stripey ( Spanish Flag )
    2 Coral Trout
    3 Red Throat

Thursdays effort was like:-

36 Hussar ( and these buggas were good quality, some around the 2kg )
    4 Red Throat
    1 Purple Cod ( Blue Cod )
    4 Stripeys
    1 Parrot
    1 Coral Trout
    1 Islander Trout ( 99 out of 100 people call these Coral Trout, but check out Grants ! ).
    2 Nannygai
    6 Brown Hussar ( different species with Yellow Tails )
    3 large Grass Sweeties
    6 Moses Perch with the largest measuring 50cm exactly, biggest I have ever seen ! and the others were all over 40cms.
    And others, including a big Red that straightened Paul’s hooks. #The call is accurate, due to experience. Estimated at 7 plus kg’s. #That one will live to be hooked next trip.

Other fish to grace the freezer were Spanish Mackerel, Spottie Mackerel, Shark, Flathead and Trevally.

Also caught and released were Mangrove Jack, Bream, Estuary Cod, Leather Jackets, Tarpon and Spotted Grunter.

Also put together a few feeds of Mud and Sand Crab, due to Paul and Roz’s efforts. Not withstanding the losers that ratted Pauls traps including cutting the line and bait cages. #And believe it or not, the last fish of the trip was a Grinner, hey Roz ?

You have to hand it to Roz, makes most fellas look second rate in the skill and enthusiasm departments. #Not only did she drive the boat, bait her own hooks, tie her own rigs, catch the best fish in some species, she even bloody assisted in the filleting of the days catch. #Then she had the hide to cook us all a top notch dinner. #This is not Patronizing in any way, it’s just that when some women say they like fishing, they actually mean they like ‘ going fishing with someone that will do everything for them “. #Team ReBait is proud to now include ‘ Roz’, as a member and invites you to be a part of any fishing trip that you are able to attend. #Only a couple of pointers, tie sinker ON line and put bait ON hook, before attempting to fish ! #doh ! #sorry ! #couldn’t help meself ! # # # # #

The very last outing was a Jack Attack down south towards Baffle Creek way, Friday Night. #Due to unforeseen circumstances Agnes_Jack ( Tony ) was unable to attend. #So, Roz, Scotty, Me and Corry braved the snags #and threatening skies to put in a few hours. #Amazing sight there, #the Fire Flies. #Well, amazing to someone who had not seen them before. #Yes, Tony, I managed to hit that snag you were telling me about on the way up. #No fish in the esky for the night, but had a couple of good runs and probably due to inexperience, in Jack creek fishing, failed to hook up.

Will also mention that work mate hit 1770 the previous week. #He donged Spanish Macks from in front of the headland on 5 out 5 mornings he went out. #Best morning session was 4 Spanish and 4 Spotties. Best Spanish for trip, 15kg. #Best results came from trolling fresh small mack tuna caught in the area using……………………….Yes, some of you guessed it ! #Lucky Phill’s mackmauler slugs ! Slimies also done ( did ) the job !

So, met the Tassie Devils and new faces. #Also met others from PBA.

Thanks to Tony, Sandi and Josh for advice and service,

Thanks to Roz for putting up with Team ReBait,

Thanks to Corry , Chantelle and Family, #NEWBY and Family ( great Chilli Cuttlefish ! ), Rob and Mark, #Peter and Dale, Girella and Tim, Scotty, Snappa, and bugga me if I can remember the ausfish name of ……………………. #At the Tavern, Friday night. #Give me an upper cut here, when you read this ! # And I believe CQ was there abouts ?

Now. The weather was good. #On most days the forecast by the BoM, was way off and Bouyweather was spot on. #Even as we were on the water getting the update from VMR Gladstone and Rocky Met on VHF82, they were saying 10-15 and the actual wind was 5. #So, most forecasts were for 10-15 N/NE #or NW, with afternoon 20knot seabreezes. #In fact these days were, #5 – 8 knot N/NE, no seas to speak of . #But, anything from the SE was as predicted. So, you can read into this the way you want, but for me, any wind of 15-20 is fishable, except from the SE, but then again, for a 6mtr plus boat, it can be done.

The call has already gone out for another 1770 M & G, so at this stage, I believe that this time year is best. #So people, put this in ya diaries. Oct next year. # Might even make it a longer trip. #Bring the family and rellies !

Pics here abouts.

Cheers #Phill

Re: Phill's 1770 Round-Up !

NIce Crab Blaze ?

Carlos 50cm Moses Perch !

Paul with Trout and Carlo with XOS Hussar. jeez they got big !

Carlo Blue Cod and Roz with Trout

Nice size Grassie from Carlo

Yummy Nannygai Phill and Ray

Well, there are some yummy fish in there ! And colourful !

Check out the size of Roz's Nannygai !

1770 on an average day. Somewhere North of the Bar.

MOre bloody Trout

Had to get ReBait in the pics somehow !

Oh, and Roz again, with more fish.

Flatty from her trip with Blaze to the headland, landbased !

Ray with good table fare !

Paul getting Chilli Crab cooking Lessons !