Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: #river to reef fishing comp/cleaned up

#river to reef fishing comp/cleaned up

Well the weather has been a bit hit and miss for the comp this weekend but at least its been fishable.Friday morning i kicked off early to try for a fish before the wind picked up which turned out to be a good plan.Cobia were a nominated species for this comp and having been blasted buy a few monsters over the last month or so i decided to try and stop one.

# i started fishing at about 0500 off caloundra and buy 0730 id nailed 3 cobes and 2 school macs the biggest cobe was taken on a slow trolled yakka with the downrigger at 45ft he took around 30min to land on 60lb penn 10x and a 9/0 gamagatsu live bait hook.Bad thing was i was fishing buy myself and had a hard time lifting him over the side after already being stuffed from the fight.

#i took him to the friday afternoon weigh in and he went 32.6kg which is not a bad cobe so im going back up to the presentations later today to see if ive got lucky or not.
    # # FINGERS CROSSED.

yesterday i went offshore in search of a snapper but only managed a couple of average pearlies.

i let yas know what happens
    # #cheers scott

Re: Sunshine Coast #river to reef fishing comp/co

Good effort Scotty.

Quality Cobe
    "Reef Hustler" - Seafarer Victory 6.0m & 225hp Honda

Great fish Scotty.
    Let us know how you go.
    Went out with george the other day and got my first cobe.

Mick (aka Prof Mick)

westie

Top fish... they will be hard pressed to get a better one so good luck,
    should be a few Ausfish members there for the presentations. Good if Ausfish members all had some ID displayed on them. Just remember
    No S 52 will get the BOAT sorry guys, when I win it you can come and say.......Onya westie and it's my shout

Nice Cobia Scott, tell me what does R.A.D stand 4.
    Its displayed on the Banner behind you in the main photo
    Cheers Toppy

hey prof

welcome to ausfish,long time no see,remind george about ausfish for me will ya the slack bugger never posts anymore.

hey toppy
    it stands for Recreational Association for the Disabled

westie
    you can tell the ausfish members cause the are the good lookin fellas and chicks with the biggest fish

ok got to go put fresh undies on and comb my hair for the presentation

cheers scott

must get out with ya for one of them BIG cobia ..

u do know my no. ......
    "whats the time"

forgot #.. "NO WORRIES" #about taking out the trophy ...
    "whats the time"

First you nail a big snapper, now its a cobia, i'd be worried if i was a big spaniard with you around scott, your on a roll mate!

a nice big cobe scotty
    might take some beating

cheers pete

Scotty,
    That's a beauty cobe, I reckon that you'll win the comp
    I hope I'll catch one like that sometime

Bonesy [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

nice cobe scott, been a bit quite lately bonesy, whats happening mate, still slaying them?

Congrats on that huge a... cobe Scott ... I hope you pulled a prize for it
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Re:  #river to reef fishing comp/cleaned up

I DONE GOOD

i scored heaps of stuff.I won the senior cobia and also the best offshore senior and you should see the gear i got.for starters i got a 15-24kg ZWS70XJ live fibre which is perfect for the TLD25 i bought last week so now ive got one set up with braid and the other with mono.I got a fancy EMRO CANNON rod holder that ill save for the new fisher boat.a set of BOGA GRIPS. A sure catch DW425 over head some nice leurs and slugs some inox and a good knife and the missus even won a 45lt evacool esky in a $2 raffle.
    YA GOTTA BE HAPPY WITH THAT .

So it just goes to show you gotta be in it to win it.A couple of interesting things the biggest snapper was only 4 point something kg and the biggest mac was only a schoolie which surprised me i figured someone from up noosa end of town would win it with a spanish so i didnt bother fishing for them.the second place cobia was only 11kg.

time to drink rum and look a shiney things in shed.
    cheers scott

Darryl

Re:  #river to reef fishing comp/cleaned up

Top effort scott , you gotta be happy with that.

Now i can go to bed, i was only waiting to see how ya went