Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Flamin Riptide at Fraser Island Fishing Expo

Re: Flamin Riptide at Fraser Island Fishing Expo

Hi Rhys,
    Top effort mate! You guys cleaned up! I havent fished Fraser since I was a 15 year old with my old man(15 years ago!!). We fished the shelf and the Gardners and got some stonker Snapper and Reds! Best bottom bashing I have had in my life to this day! You fired me up to fish the comp next year. When do you have to register by?
    Thanks,
    Ben.

Not sure Ben,

I know there were only 50 spots left two weeks out from the comp so shes pretty popular. I'd be getting a crew together and organised sooner rather than later...all things being equal, we'll be there next year with bells on!!!!

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

G'day Rhys & Co

Great report and awesome pics.
    Sounds like u guys had a fantastic time....looks like doing the hard work prior to the trip paid off.!!

Looking at doing the Comp next year with a mate that has a 5.5M Fisher. Have not done the comp before so might have to make contact with you at some stage & get some tips on beach launching & fuel required etc. etc.

Phil

Hi Rhys,
    Thanks for the info mate. Is the Flaming Riptide a Noble Super Vee? How does she go in a rough sea?
    Thanks,
    Ben.

Hi Phil,

Fraser Island caused the learning to do a J curve and still heaps to reflect on, by no mean experts but I'm happy to share what we learned...

Ben, Flamin Riptide is a 600 Cuddy Cab Riptide Alloy Boat built by Dave Claussen in Underwood www.riptidealloyboats.com.au (Dave's 6mt is to the inside of the transom...so would go around 6.6ish to the rear of the pod)

This thing is so good...very happy with both the ride and stability in some pretty dodgy weather and big seas. #Never felt uncomfortable and can certainly recommend the hull. #I have over 250 pics of the build process...Dave builds one tough strong hull...plenty of bracing under the floor with 5 full length stringers per side of the hull, three full length inside the fully sealed under floor positive ballast air tanks. #Would put it against the best of them anytime...

Certainly worth looking at Ben
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Hi Rhys,
    Thanks for the info mate. Sounds like a nice hull!
    Ben.

Check your PM Ben
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Hi Rhys

Really appreciate any advice that you are able to share from your trip.
    Some info is better than no info I reckon..
    Will send you a PM.
    Spotted your boat out at the Banks a few weeks ago, but you were on the move homeward by the looks.
    Might see you out there next time.

Phil

No worries Phil, I'll look out for your pm

rhys
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

awesome read rhys,
    would have to be one of the best
    reports i have read on ausfish.
    congrats to you and the crew, looks like you guys
    slayed them.
    cheers dale

sure looks like you guys did realy well & had just as big of a ball as we did welldone !!!
    regards darryn

the_baker

good story & even better fish. well done lads

dave

Hey Rhys,

Great read mate. You sure did have a great time up there. Looks like you loaded up on the red fish. Have to catch up soon. The wedding was a blast and Brampton was everything you said it was going to be. The trout and blue parrot where enormous off the resort. Give you a call soon.

Regards Craig.

Good to see you made it back safe and sound Craig...glad you and Naomi enjoyed Brampton...look forward to the stories...you mean you actually had time to go fishing???? hmmm, gotta think about that one

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Nice work there looks like you had a ball.

You have a great set up for running up the beach by the looks of the pics. Do you have any tips for setting up the trailer I'm in the middle of having my next adventure built a 6.5mt platey and would like to get it up there one day so any tips would be much appreciated.

JLW