Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 200m from pro's

200m from pro's

A fellow Ausfisher had abit of a run in with a pro yesturday. There is a rule that you must fish 200m meters away from a pro. Has anyone heard this rule before? If you had the vhf on yesturday on 21 you would of heard this pro swearring and carring on{this is not acceptible on the radio}
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Re: 200m from pro's

hi
    i have never heard off this i was a ex pro. he seen like a ######. as for the swearing theres a big fine for that but he gut he boat rego.
    danny

who was the ausfisher

I have heard about this with Charter Boats, Thought it was the same for pro's
    As I have heard and not knowing the rules 100%,
    If you are fishing and a Charter/Pro comes over to your spot you are ok.
    But i dont think you can go to there spot.

Its only what I have heard

AJ

i have heard of it but never had to worry about it

westie

I was at the Caloundra 9 Mile fishing amoung other boats and a Charter Fishing Boat came within casting distance slowed down to around 6 knots, I am sure he was looking at what we all were sitting on. There is not a problem with him coming that close but if he had of dropped the pick I would have had reason to say something, I do belive there is a distance for when Trawlers are opperating but Fishing Charters ?????

I will make the effort to ring the authorities Monday morning to find out.

did the ausfisher get the position for
    future investigation????

Brett_Hoskin

It it a Queensland Transport rule or a DPI rule?

hi
    as a charter boat skipper i dont have a problem with anyone coming close to me as far as i know theys no distance. with trawler because they have there nets down it hard for them to turn.
    danny

hi
    i just look in my small ship manual .all power driven vessel under way shall keep out of the way of
    1 a vessel not under command