Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: $56.99kg for trout, would you pay for it?

$56.99kg for trout, would you pay for it?

Gday all,

As i work in the retail industry i was today looking at what seafood varieties to order for Xmas next week. To my amazement i pooped the question to a fellow manager and asked why you arent gettn trout in as its a local fish up here in NQ. They just pointed at the retail cost of $56.99kg for fillets. Just as well i caught my own trout on the weekend makes my trip more than worthwhile. As much as i rate TROUT NO1 on the table i dont think i would be paying almost 60 bucks a kilo for the fish no matter how good it is! What is everyone elses thoughts?

Shane

Re: $56.99kg for trout, would you pay for it?

Thats hard to fathom Shane, price driven up by the export market!

I woulda chewed through about a 1000 bucks worth this year,,,buurrrrrrppp

Alot of money for what it is but Im sure there are many people overseas (like elton john for example) who would pay it

Hmmmmm.......

Can't say that I would pay $56.99/kg for Coral Trout.

I would pay $56.99 for a couple of 2-3kg trout, 1 dozen Crownies or Boags and some smoked salmon and rice paper.... actually I'd only buy the beer and salmon and catch the trout on Paluma shoals

God I miss living up north....

All I want for Christmas 2007 is a job back in the North

Peter R

At 35 euro a kilo for trout that's a bargain. It's only twice as expensive as the north atlantic salmon here in Holland.

Import me some now I need a fix.

Don't panic, crayfish is on special for $69 / kg.

Based on the above price for trout and crayfish I am ringing my home and contents insurer and getting them to cancel coverage on my 109cm flat screen television and getting them to insure the fish in my freezer.

hate to be the blonde that I am

but why the hell is it so bloody expensive????

are trout smarter are they harder to catch???

Please explain??