Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: ** MY DAY OUT BUYING "AUSSIE" SEAFOODS!!!

Re: ** MY DAY OUT BUYING "AUSSIE" SEAFOODS!!!

Here in WA I have never had an issue getting fresh quality local and australian seafood, hell I'll even pay extra for it. Might just be lucky in that sense here in wait awhile?

Then why didn't you all support your local seafood industry when you had the chance. You can't sole rights to your recreational activities AND the best seafood you have all come to EXPECT.

You all should have supported your local industry before putting the knife in.

Real bugga when things come home to roost.

This is the truth but no doubt there will be the anti truths. Recreational fisho's really suck.

I'm guessing your a disalusioned pro Kalin
    any way welcome to the site, stay a bit and ya might find out recs airnt that bad
    plenty of fresh seafood my way (tassie)

I would doubt that disalusioned has really stuck the right cord yet. You can not keep on locking areas up, continually expanding the recreational only areas and expect the world as well, doesn't happen like that. Things are stuffed so everybody better get used to the way it is, it isn't going to get any better.

Fresh basa fillets would churn anybody's stomach inside out when you see where they come from. All in the name of profit and deception. The problem is everybody only stands up for themselves, selfish bugga's ain't we.

never had a better winter reef fishing season then last years' maybe thats the result of the closures?
    or is that mis-truth?
    plenty of forked tail catties in the brisso river, why buy vietnamese catties, when we got the best sewer feed catties money can buy rite here, in pump all junk, mess and crap out to seas' ville!
    maybe when we roll things back a little "we" might actually get more out of it in the long term.

damon

This yet another typical example of our wonderful Government pandering to the whims of overseas markets at the expense of our local industry. The importers here are able to land the gear here at a fairly good price, which equals a greater mark-up and, therefore, greater profits. The stuff is treated with all these wierd and wonderful chemicals, which allows it to be just frozen until it is sold, thereby requiring less effort, which equals less money, to look after the product. No doubt, we've all seen the local fishermen on TV saying how their industry is dying because of all the cheap imported product flooding the market; they are 100% on the money. I come from a fishing family and this import caper is destroying the industry big time. The funny thing is, though, the price of the imported product at the retail end is not that much cheaper than the local product, and, in most of the display cases in the shops, it looks absolutely dodgey when sitting next to local product (if you can find some, that is). And , it tastes like shit; it's not a patch on the local stuff. It seems to be that the retailers have decided that the family man who wants some prawns for Easter and/or Christmas will be happy to save a couple of bucks and he won't really notice the taste difference. And, it seems, sadly they are right. Most people really have no idea when buying seafood once or twice a year and rely on the retailer to point them in the right direction. I've always been lucky in that I've never had to buy seafood, and I never would; I've always had access to fresh prawns straight off the trawlers or to fresh reef fish I have caught myself (not much happening there of late, though). I do go to the Seafood House at Capalaba, and their product does seem quite OK, but the only thing I buy there is fresh Mullet, Pike or Squid for bait. I wouldn't touch that imported product for all the tea in China for a number of reasons, including taste, quality, health concerns (remember all the lovely chemical additives) and the fact that I would prefer to support my local industry, especially when their product is 10 times better. Imported seafood, which is mostly imported from these dodgey third world countries with very questionable health and social practices, must be treated accordingly; THROW THE SHIT TO THE CATS!!!

NICK.

Quote Originally Posted by bignick
    This yet another typical example of our wonderful Government pandering to the whims of overseas markets at the expense of our local industry.

The importers here are able to land the gear here at a fairly good price, which equals a greater mark-up and, therefore, greater profits. The stuff is treated with all these wierd and wonderful chemicals, which allows it to be just frozen until it is sold, thereby requiring less effort, which equals less money, to look after the product.

No doubt, we've all seen the local fishermen on TV saying how their industry is dying because of all the cheap imported product flooding the market; they are 100% on the money. I come from a fishing family and this import caper is destroying the industry big time. The funny thing is, though, the price of the imported product at the retail end is not that much cheaper than the local product, and, in most of the display cases in the shops, it looks absolutely dodgey when sitting next to local product (if you can find some, that is). And , it tastes like shit; it's not a patch on the local stuff.

It seems to be that the retailers have decided that the family man who wants some prawns for Easter and/or Christmas will be happy to save a couple of bucks and he won't really notice the taste difference. And, it seems, sadly they are right. Most people really have no idea when buying seafood once or twice a year and rely on the retailer to point them in the right direction.

I've always been lucky in that I've never had to buy seafood, and I never would; I've always had access to fresh prawns straight off the trawlers or to fresh reef fish I have caught myself (not much happening there of late, though).

I do go to the Seafood House at Capalaba, and their product does seem quite OK, but the only thing I buy there is fresh Mullet, Pike or Squid for bait. I wouldn't touch that imported product for all the tea in China for a number of reasons, including taste, quality, health concerns (remember all the lovely chemical additives) and the fact that I would prefer to support my local industry, especially when their product is 10 times better. Imported seafood, which is mostly imported from these dodgey third world countries with very questionable health and social practices, must be treated accordingly;

THROW THE SHIT TO THE CATS!!!

NICK.
    Gees Nick you have some long sentences in that great report I nearly ran out of breathe trying to read them. The gaps in your quote are where I rested and caught my breathe. (Paragraphs)

I have always envied you lot up in QLD and am disappointed to read that the general level of seafood available is of such low quality.

On visits to Brisbane I remember the many roadside stalls selling prawns and the last trip stopped to buy some. Well thank heaven for memories because these prawns tasted like they were cooked in more salt than contained in the Dead sea. The flesh was mushy and a big disappointment.

I reckon one thing if was living up there after reading this thread I would certainly be catching my own feed. It is a bit different down here unless you are happy with just flathead (Great fish but a variety is nice) as really they are the only guaranteed catch these days out of PPB and then mostly only runts. ( Yes we have had some good snapper this season but again along with the weather you cannot say you will get a feed of them every trip.

I have not visited our w/salers of late but I should imagine they would be no different to Brissie or the rest of the country. Bugger!

Why does Superman stop bullets with his chest, but ducks when you throw a revolver at him?

PinkPanther and guys,
    My father-in-law used to work for a freight forwarder at the Brisbane Airport in the 90's. When my wife and I would go visit he'd show us all the lovely produce going OUT of Aus!! #
    The seafood was spectacular, you know the type 5 king prawns to a kilo type of stuff. The most amazing were the tomatoes, they were redder and more perfectly formed than a cricket ball. #All the best gera goes to the highest bidder and usually the poor old aussie doesn't fair too well against the might of the international $$$ [smiley=angryfire.gif]

I always go to the Aussie Seafood house at Capalaba to buy fish/prawns because A) its good quality B) The imported stuff is marked imported so I can make my OWN decision as what I want to buy.
    I refuse to buy imported Seafood and would happily pay extra to get good quality AUSTRALIAN seafood, and in the process help keep Aussies in jobs and so when my kids grow up they can do the same.

Cheers and Australian Bloody Beers (not the imported muck!)
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

I dont know why it is - but on the sunshine coast we get very very good seafood, fresh prawns, all the fish you could eat if you cant catch it yourself - all freshly displayed as whole fresh fish in special upright stands and you can watch the guys out the back filleting on wet tables. We have a specialist oyster factory up here now and you can buy Sydney Rock, Tassie, Coffin Bay, or Port Stephens oysters depending on your fancy. Last time in there $5.00 a dozen and fresh prawns from Bundaberg. Recently stood outside the Noosa Junction fish shop and watched them unload a fresh box of fish from up north - it was a box about six ft square packed with red emperor, sweetlip, mackerel, mangrove jack, nannygai etc etc.

If you cant get fresh in Qld its a bloody poor excuse and you should tell the shops.............stand up and give them a serve. Nothing happens if you dont take action.

WHat happens to all the Oysters from Straddie Leases? They all still operate if not mistaken?

As for standing by and not sticking up for the local seafood industry (previous comments above) well I would never stand up and support the indiscriminate rape of the ocean which I have seen time & time again on the Sth Coats of NSW and other places............but if its sustainable fisheries management and they keep the shop full of the stuff we get here - then I would always buy it.

Dunno about Basa fillets but last time I was in Thailand went on a cruise and stopped for lunch at a floating fishing village in the middle of the bay. huge joint all surrounded by nets keeping the catch in & under the actual village. Before I had eaten needed to go to the toilet and after finally finding it, it was a hole in the floor feeding directly into these holding pens. Needless to say I didn't eat the seafood that day, did that night though back at Phuket probably the same gear but after a few Singha Beers it didn't seem such a big ask!!
    P.s. don't buy seafood much, won't buy imported and refuse to pay b/s money when I can catch it myself plus it always tastes better.

Out on the Westside I have always been impressed by the Seafood Shop at Mt Ommaney. they also stock the Crystal Bay Prawn which imo are the best prawns out there on the market

I guess all of this discussion proves one thing - catch it yourself. Then you know it's fresh. My kids often say that they went out to such and such a restaurant and had fish and then always add - "but it wasn't as good as dad's". I've found that I can catch (when in season) fish of all types, squid (and the odd cuttlefish) crabs and prawns. Oysters are available in a number of places too, which only leaves scallops and bugs. Although I love scallops I won't buy the frozen rubbish (maybe I better keep the next big ray I catch and 'make' some) and I substitute redclaw for bugs. What a great country and a great region we live in. Makes it even more important that we protect it
    Cheers Freeeedom

what region is that freeeeedom?

Quote Originally Posted by Kalin
    I would doubt that disalusioned has really stuck the right cord yet. You can not keep on locking areas up, continually expanding the recreational only areas and expect the world as well, doesn't happen like that. Things are stuffed so everybody better get used to the way it is, it isn't going to get any better.

Fresh basa fillets would churn anybody's stomach inside out when you see where they come from. All in the name of profit and deception. The problem is everybody only stands up for themselves, selfish bugga's ain't we.
    Thought this was a site for the recreational angler????? What the???????continually expanding the recreational only areas ........Troller may-be very apt. #Guess dredging the bottom is in your nature? There can be no arguement against recreational angling as I have never seen a hook and line drag all the weed from an entire area >...no weed, no breeding/spawning ground for the inhabitants therefore no fish.
    I have no idea who you are, or what your problem is but I don't feel that it fits here.