Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678910 LastLast

Thread: THE WATER CRISIS we had to have??

Re: New Water Restrictions Brisbane

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead
    http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/bccwr/lib85/20060607_reslevel3web.pdf
    Pinhead,

I can see the part about using backets to wash the boat, but where in that document does it say anything about flushing your outboard?

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Jeremy..washing of vehicles etc.."Flushing of boat motors is permitted using a hose at any time"

Captain_Starli

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy
    [quote author=PinHead link=1150152517/0#4 date=1150153724]http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/bccwr/lib85/20060607_reslevel3web.pdf
    Pinhead,

I can see the part about using backets to wash the boat, but where in that document does it say anything about flushing your outboard?

Jeremy[/quote]

Jeremy,
    i have phoned the council..
    you can flush motor with muffs for manufacturers recommended time.
    also you can use a water blaster if it is one of the ones that can draw water from a bucket. all the Karcher ones that Bunnings sell can draw water from a bucket. prices from $100 & something to $1000 & something. mid range puts out around 1700 psi for around $399. should also use a lot less water than throwing buckets of the stuff at your boat..probably a goo investment if restrictions are here for a while..

Research the pressure cleaners before buying. Some around $300-400
    have a plastic pump, others in the same price range have brass or alloy pumps. Think I'd prefer a metal pump over plastic.
    regards.

DeeGee

I'm also concerned with giving the trailer a good wash - not easy with a bucket while the boat is on the trailer. I just used the hose before the restrictions, then an el cheapo water blaster on the hose. Now it looks like the blaster & bucket will be the way.

My blaster will draw from a bucket as long as the bucket is higher than the unit. #Try this if yours will not draw with the bucket at ground level. #But it empties the bucket pretty fast, so while this idea will work, be prepared to lug a few buckets of water, and use it efficiently while it is pumping.

Jeremy..washing of vehicles etc.."Flushing of boat motors is permitted using a hose at any time"
    got it thanks

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy
    [quote author=PinHead link=1150152517/0#4 date=1150153724]http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/bccwr/lib85/20060607_reslevel3web.pdf
    Pinhead,

Jeremy[/quote]

I missed it the first time I looked Jeremy, but it's there.

Washing of vehicle/house/windows/boat
    (other than by a commercial service provider)
    • Washing with buckets filled directly from a tap is permitted at any time.
    • Flushing of boat motors is permitted using a hose at any time.

Find a mate who lives in the Redlands, and wash your boat down before going back to Brisbane. They are not running anywhere near as severe restrictions.

FishOn

I was told by the Caboolture Council that washing a boat using a pressure sprayer with water from a bucket was not allowed. Seemingly because the 'rules' stipulate that washing of boats/cars by using any hose was banned.

Looks like we may have different intrepretations?

Kind regards Trevor

The_Walrus

Car lovers or similar to clean boat & trailer then flushing bag at home.

For the greenery, a 20 litre bucket on a trolley with a bilge pump via a lenght of hose with a fine shower spray head.

given the commercial car places recycle water it would be interesting to check with a hydrometer how close to sea water it ends up

Re: THE WATER CRISIS we had to have??

Pinhead my response in CAPS

Jim..I will be honest. I really do not give a rats about the environment.YOU AND MOST ARDENT CAPITALISTS..until after the people are accomodated THIS IS THE BIT WHERE YOUR LACK OF ECOLOGY 101 LEASONS LETS YOU DOWN - THE ENVIRONMENT IS REQUIRED TO ACCOMODATE HUMANS - WE ARE ANIMALS AND WE REQUIRE HABITAT - ADHERING TO GROWTH IN BOTH THE HUMAN POPULATION AND THE MATERIAL ECONOMY WILL ULTIMATELY UNDERMINE THE GLOBAL ECOSYSTEM'S ABILITY TO 'ACCOMODATE' HUMANS AND A LOT OF OTHER SPECIES AND ECOSYSTEMS BEFORE WE GET TO THE HUMAN CRUNCH POINT. I am an avowed capitalist.NO REALLY?.if you don't like the capitalist system might I suggest some other places you may prefer NO YOU MIGHT NOT SUGGEST THAT - I HAVE AS MUCH RIGHT TO STAY HERE IF NOT MORE GIVEN MY COMMITTMENT TO THE SUSTAINABILITY OF OUR SOCIETY AND OUR CHILDRENS FUTURE - UNLIKE YOU - WHICH ONE OF THOSE PLACES DO YOU PREFER?? PERHAPS CHINA GIVEN THEIR NEW FOUND LOVE AFFAIR WITH THE MARKET ECONOMY OR AND THEIR LARGE POPULATION AND MANUFACTURING BASE - SOUNDS LIKE YOUR SORT OF PLACE..Iran, Iraq, Afhganistan NOT GOING TO THOSE PLACES WHILE YOUR CAPITALIST MATES ARE TRYING TO SURE UP THEIR DIMINISHING OIL SUPPLIES, China..CHINA ARE MORE SUCCESSFUL CAPITALISTS THAN US CURRENTLY (GROWTH ~8%?) ALBEIT STATE CONTROILLED CAPITALIST try one of those if you don't like our system WHO SAID IT IS 'OUR' SYSTEM - I THINK IF AUSTRALIAN'S HAD AN OPEN DISCUSSION AND DEBATE ABOUT THE ECONOMIC SYSTEM WE HAVE AND GIVEN VIABLE ALTERNATIVES THE CURRENT 'SYSTEM' MIGHT NOT BE THE ONE WE CHOOSE TO BE 'OURS'.

As for the need for an increased population..amazing how everyone has made comments about manufacturing..there isn;t any here...why?? the market is too small. Just think of the extra jobs an increased population will require...we could then use a lot of the materials we currently export as well as increase our export matkets AND THEN WE CAN DIVIDE THE INCREASED ECONOMY BY THE INCREASED POPULATION AND BE WHERE WE ARE NOW (OR WORSE) ON A PER CAPITA BASIS - SO WHAT HAVE WE GAINED??.

As for the comments about climate change..is this actually a man made thing or just the Earth going through its cyclical changes THE INTERNATIONAL SCIENTIFIC COMUNITY HAS MOVED ON FROM DEBATING WHETHER CLIMATE CHANGE IS WITH US OR NOT AND IF YOU DONT ACCEPT IT YOUR LIVING IN DENIAL. I heard one scientist state that global warming is not such a bad thing..that if the earth cools then another ice age could be upon us in as little as 70 years..and we all know the consequences of that. YES BUT WE DON'T KNOW THE CONSEQUENCES OF THE PREDICTED 6 DEGREES OF MEAN GLOBAL TEMPERATURE RISE BY THE END OF THE CENTUARY OTHER THAN IT BEING BAD AND POSSIBLY IRRIVERSIBLE IN TERMS OF IMPACT TO MANY OF THE EARTH'S LIFE SUPPORT ECOSYSTEMS

As for space for 40 million people..are you serious...with the area we have..heaps of room ROOM IS NOT THE RESOURCE WE ARE SHORT OF - DUH - REMEMBER THE THREAD IS ABOUT THE WATER CRISIS - IF SE QLD HAS TWICE THE POPULATION EVEN WITH TWICE THE DAMS WE'LL BE BACK WHERE WE ARE NOW IN TERMS OF WATER SUPPY PER CAPITA - SO WHERE IS THE GAIN??.

Back to the original topic..water..I am a firmer believer in the need for more dams WHY NOT LESS PEOPLE - YOUR ARGUMENTS HAVE BEEN LESS THAN CONVINCING and will gladly support whichever political party gets their fingers out and does something about it GOOD OLD REACTIVE POLICY - KEEPS US LURCHING FROM ONE CRISIS TO ANOTHER . #End of my discussion on this.
    'Stick to fishing instead of fighting' - JC

Jim...go and join WWF or some other green loonie mob..people like you only have the ability to carry on about the environment..due to you having access to things like computers...from the capitalist system...give me a break..do you actually believe all this environment dribble being thrown around these days...holes in the ozone layer, global warming..etc ad infinitum...fer christs sake..what we are experiencing is a drought..nothing more or less...it will break in time and probably with a bloody great flood..oh..dams are great flood mitigation devices also. I will stand by everything I have said on here nad believe it is the way forward.

In the debate about capitalism/commercialism vs environment I think it really comes down to one thing 'BALANCE'.As I've said before the real problem is greed and this can be seen right the way through society from a fisho taking far more than he/she needs to giant international corporations who plow through any environment in pursuit of profits.
    If we can give equal importance to both the environment and sustainable progress then we'll be on the right track I reckon,but whether individual greed will allow this is very debatable.Jace.

Pinhead, you don't have to be a loony to care about the environment mate but you do have to be crazy NOT to care about it.I mean you don't see the guys responsible for creating industrial sh!tholes actually living in those areas do you?normally they'll have some beautiful mansion surrounded by green forests and gardens or by a lake or the ocean in some pristine area.
    I remember reading about the Apollo astronauts who went to the moon and when asked what they missed most on their trip they all placed earths' natural environment above everything else to a man.There's no reason we can't have progress but we need to start working with the planets' natural systems rather than against them.
    By the way the ozone hole is a fact and not drivel,but it is a natural phenomenon occuring at the two poles and the banning of chloroflurocarbons in aerosols was done for a good reason.Global warming is a natural phenomenon occuring in cycles over tens of thousands of yrs and can't be measured in a few hundred yrs or a person's lifetime even.Cheers!Jace.