Thread: Brain spiking

Brain spiking

G'Day
    Where exactly do you spike a fish to hit the brain.I've tried various spots that I've been told but only on a couple of occasions have I been able to tell that I've been spot on. Is there a hollow or soft spot to aim at or is it a certain distance above / behind the eye.
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

Captain_Starli

Re: Brain spiking

you will find something here..
    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&r...i+jimi&spell=1

Captain_Starli

If you look on the top of a tunas head, basically in a line between the eyes, you will find a smallish indentation. You can see it and feel it ... this is the spot.

As for any other species ... wouldnt have a clue.

Mate have just turned to bleeding all my fish instead off spiking you will be surprised in the diference in the flillets (all fish including reefies especially snapper)
    the result is the same as spiking and fillets taste much better and look heaps cleaner
    reefies do not bleed much so not to much mess

Thanks fellas
    I still bleed them by cutting their throat but I read somewhere that if you brain spike them first they dont jump around making a hell of a noise while they are bleeding out.
    I'll check out those links
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE