Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Thread: I remember when . . . .

Re: I remember when . . . .

Major-defect, yeah I miss those big big big tree frogs too! They would pee on you when you pick 'em up.
    We used to always get one come up through the S bend and be sitting on the dunny seat, or still in the water LOL would scare me Mum
    "David, come in here and get rid of this frog!!!!"

Now I am busy killing toads whenever I see them.

Apparently there is a gropu here in Brissy which you can help breed Aussie Frogs in a pond at your home.
    I know it is illegal to remove tadpoles or such from ponds but I think they give you some permit or such etc etc

If I find out which it is I will post on this site for reference.

I also remember when Michael Jackson was black!
    You say fish, I say yes please.

I remember....

- lighting the candle in the outside dunny, throwing the match in the can and setting fire to the sawdust (which had a bit of kero in it to stop maggots growing). Luckily I had a full bladder and a major conflagration was avoided
    - driving from northern NSW to Brisbane on holidays while the "PACIFIC HIGHWAY" between Harwood and Woodburn was still a dirt road and you crossed the Clarence River by ferry
    - sharing the bathwater with three siblings and both parents in case the tanks ran dry
    - going camping in school holidays at Yamba - four kids in a tent and no parents. There was never a thought on any danger in doing this at the time. As someone else has mentioned the doors to houses were never locked
    - when if you didn't catch at least 100 bream on a winters night it was a poor trip
    - and all the other things already mentioned (although we always remember the "dunny man" with a can on his shoulder and an ice cream cone in his hand).
    Cheers Freeeedom

Yeah, I can remember all of the aforesaid, including:

Throwing a couple of double bungers into the office of the station mistress at Clayfield railway station when it was a level crossing across Sandgate road; and copping a number 12 in the bum from the sergeant for our efforts;

Selling the Telegraph to drivers on the way home when they were stopped at the aforesaid level crossing waiting for the train to cross the road;

Cutting nearly all the way through the rope in the bell tower at St Columban's church at Clayfield on Sandgate Road. The minister used to give the rope an almighty pull to summon the faithful, only to see it fall all around him;

The only place in Brisbane where you could get a beer on a Sunday was at Brisbane Airport, on production of an airline ticket. They never seemed to check if the ticket was used or not;

Catching the train with the old man to Pinkenba, walk about 100 miles to Myrtletown, fill half a sugar bag with whiting, bream and flathead and catch the train back to Eagle Junction;

Mowing the whole yard with an old Pope hand mower that had cast iron wheels, a hardwood handle and a canvas catcher so I could go to the matinee of a Saturday arvo at the Savoy theatre at Clayfield. I used to get the equivalent of 12 cents, 8 to get in and 4 to get some potato scallops for tea on the way home;

I'd better stop. I can't remember why I'm typing this.

I can't remember what I was going to say?????

I remember having to get up to change the channel on the TV.
    I still have to get up to change the channel on my tv

I remeber going out with my old man into the bay and coming back with 2 eskies both full with whiting he never let us catch more then 300 coz he hated filiting them.

Listening to Dad and Dave on the radio
    Getting our first black and white tv
    The dunny man hitting the outhouse
    Cutting chooks heads off and watchng them run around the yard headless
    The milko turning up with his horse and cart
    or walking to the mild depot with a pale to get our milk
    The road from Bowen to Brisbane being dirt, especially the St Lawerance stretch
    Using only wooden reel handlines to reef fish
    Buying my first rod when i came south
    Trolling for mackerel with bamboo outriggers
    Catching my first Barra in Arnhem land (east alligator) before Kakadoo was even though of.
    Driving to ayers rock when it was a dirt road
    fishing the bay in a plywood boat and there were some island at the mouth
    fishing Mud island before the coral dredgeing started
    travelling in a steam train to brisbane
    riding in the dicky seat in a humber
    flying in a Dc 3
    blowing up neighbours letter boxes with threepiney bungers
    having a guyfox man in the back yard on cracker night
    that enough im old enough now.

Quote Originally Posted by webby
    Driving to ayers rock when it was a dirt road
    Hey, I did that. I even remember being fit enough to climb it!

I also remember when the main road into Charleville from Brisbane was a corrugated red dirt road and when the Nullabor still had 300 miles of dirt road. I remember that especially because I blew my hydrolastic suspension on it and had no suspension at all - a bloody rough trip!

Back to fishin', i remember fishing for yella belly, cod and catfish in the Warrego River with fishing line made of green string.

I can remeber going to the drive in with my father and going home with my mother. by the way for all those young ones thats a big screen that you watched from your car,.cheers barfly.

Okay for fear of making myself sound really old I just remembered some more "I remembers"

I remember when there was nothing but black and white TV and how school stopped and forced us all to watch man walking on the moon for the first time.

I remember living at Archerfield during the 1974 floods and watching all the boats zooming around rescuing people from their submerging houses around us (But our house was spared)

I remember the Robert Miller nearly causing chaos in the Brisbane river during the floods.(Wonder how many remember that one?)

I remember the times of TV innocence when an Ad revealing women standing in underwear would have been considered obscene and pornographic.

I remember when dad pulled into fuel stations and cracked up about having to pay .10 cents per litre to fill the Holden EJ Wagon which included checking under the hood and cleaning the windscreen while they fueled the car up.

I remember most importantly where all my fishing addiction started with casting lessons from dad, uncles, and grandfather and watching younger brother do his first smooth cast and catching his first ear. (Grandad should never have stood so close with back turned) #

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Quote Originally Posted by Duyz72
    Major-defect, yeah I miss those big big big tree frogs too! #They would pee on you when you pick 'em up.
    We used to always get one come up through the S bend and be sitting on the dunny seat, or still in the water LOL would scare me Mum
    "David, come in here and get rid of this frog!!!!"

Now I am busy killing toads whenever I see them.

Apparently there is a gropu here in Brissy which you can help breed Aussie Frogs in a pond at your home.
    I know it is illegal to remove tadpoles or such from ponds but I think they give you some permit or such etc etc

If I find out which it is I will post on this site for reference.

I also remember when Michael Jackson was black!
    OMG..don't get me started on ponds and a native frog...you would not believe the dramas it has caused here..police visits etc and still ongoing.

"and we used to live in cardboard box in middle of road..tell the young ones that these days and they just won't believe ya"

Now who can remember that quote????

I grew up in Port Adelaide, so I Remember:-

Tim Evans kicking 10 goals for The Pies (Port Adelaide)

Gary Gilmour bowling a hat trick at the Alberton Oval v (West Indies I think)

Using Mince meat with semolina to catch Mullet, Gar tommy ruffs and bream off the Port Adelaide Wharves.

My parents bringing home their brand new 1968 VW Beetle. - We used to ride/sleep in the luggage space at the back.

Catching 20 5 kilo plus Salmon on Watpinga Beach

When the TV remote control was on a cord

When Countdown rocked

When Molly was straight.

Catching Jewfish (Mulloway) off the Wheat Silo wharves on White bait dipped in fish oil.

Golden Gaytimes were 20 cents.

The Brady Bunch seemed really cool

I had a crush on Marsha

When Jerry Lewis was funny.

etc. etc. etc.

Arrgghhh the good old days hey!!!

I remember being 7 watching me old man hook into Spanish Mac at Point Lookout
    I remember burning my $#se off on the EJ Bench seat
    I remember evenings of cricket in the street with the neighbors kids
    I remember the Cain
    I remember getting 1 christmas present and being REALLY HAPPY!!
    I remember stew every night of the week

Everyone who has posted here....YOU WILL NEVER SEE THESE TIMES AGAIN. Cherish these thoughts that you have shared. Hold them close and know that you are the last generation to have lived these glorious times.

Megsy

there is some great memories a lot of them i'd forgotton about till you bought them up

but then again i am older than most of you so the memories are fading like the sands of time.

pinhead that wouldn't be marsh frogs you are referring to would they, we have heaps of them and i often

wonder how loud they are in the neigbour houses they can get pretty loud but we still sleep,

but sometimes the tv has to get louder.