Page 43 of 46 FirstFirst ... 3334353637383940414243444546 LastLast

Thread: Your thoughts on BCF

Re: info on BCF

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    not always the case, it is just people think they are big and must be cheap, so they go there, same applies to Bunnings, look around and compare prices, they are never cheaper, I detest anywhere that will "price match" why should you look somewhere, ask questions and so on, go elsewhere, ask if they can match the price without any effort, and you buy there, they should have had the "right" price in the first place (I reckon) if someone would price match I would buy from the first guy on principal.
    I know what your saying about the principal thing Noelm. I used to work in electrical retail and it wasn't uncommon to spend an hour with someone explaining products, getting measurements, checking availability etc. then they would walk away with price to your competitors armed with all the info and buy it from someone else because they beat your price by $5!!!
    The difference I see here though is that I do my research before I go and know what I want. I must say probably the best thing about bcf compared to their competitors is the range. They do have allot of product and I have spent money there but rod's and reels I TRY to buy locally.
    Cheers....Terry..........

Re: Your thoughts on BCF

I like BCF.
    They gave myself and a couple of my little mates a sausage sambo, a drink and a sample bag a few weeks ago at a products info night. Good on them I reckon
    The only things I buy there are things I need and I know are on 'special'. Other then that I try and buy local.
    That's easy at Evans Head...no BCF there. But an IGA is there now

Treat them as you see fit.
    If you hate them don't go. If you like them go. If your a browser go and see what's available. If you don't care one bit, then good on ya. I really don't.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    I like BCF.
    They gave myself and a couple of my little mates a sausage sambo, a drink and a sample bag a few weeks ago at a products info night. Good on them I reckon
    The only things I buy there are things I need and I know are on 'special'. Other then that I try and buy local.
    That's easy at Evans Head...no BCF there. But an IGA is there now

Treat them as you see fit.
    If you hate them don't go. If you like them go. If your a browser go and see what's available. If you don't care one bit, then good on ya. I really don't.
    An IGA??????? Gee next thing you know Evans will have TV and maybe lectricity...LOL

Quote Originally Posted by devocean View Post
    Would love to know which multinational owns BCF probably General Motors or something, if anyone can help identify who really owns BCF it would be great.

The problem I find is that they dont specialise and generalise on everythng, there rope and cord section is great though and quite cheap
    It is the same bloke who set up Supa Cheap Auto.

Most of my Money is spent on Booze and Fishin.
    The Rest is just Wasted!
    To The Shed.............

Would not shop there if you paid me!! There range is graet if you like alot of garbage that most good tackle shops anyway there just have every colur in the range not just the ones that work .. They are quite expensive!! Went on a mission few weeks ago to buy another stella sw 20000 i told them the best price i hsd found and i did have a member card they would not go close !!! Actually $250 dearer !!! Dont get me wrong i love big tackle shops for checking out new products and lures but these guys just have the same old gear day by day.The bad thing is they will take over the tackle industry wiping out the good tackle shops cause the weekend warriors and likes think Big bcf gonna be way cheaper they are wit out a doubt wrong.. I have done prices on so many items and they are definately dearer by a fair margin.. It really makes me laugh saying that they have experience in there my local shop has 2 ex marlin charter boat workers one guy does the fishing report and the other is a ledgenary rock fisherman, and people are saying they get great advice on gear from people kids -men that work there!! Not all but most of these guys think they no everthing since they might of caught a barra in a damn or caught a bream on a lure!!! As they say 5% of fisherman catch good fish most trips not just fluke a odd trip (why is this it comes down to knowledge and advice from others and using your brain) Now when myself and others come back in to the boat ramps hearing everyone complaining about the fishing typical BCF shoppers, nothing brings a smile to my face when young guys like myself have bagged out. Why!!! cause we can go in to our tackle shops hang out in there get quality bait(not indo pillys) have a good bout wats been happening find out depths there been active in, and just generally get some helpful advice on other alternatives..
    Just the other day was talking to a new offshore fisherman who was at my local ramp and was asking how we were getting the spanish. He showed me the outfit he was recomened from BCF for trolling a 6500 baitrunner on a 6-8kg catana rod. Im sure he want be going there again..
    Sorry fellow ausfishers i just hate wit a passion this company big time have just had and seen some shocking advice.. Just how i feel!!!

geez mate for some that hates them that much you seem to spend a bit of time there and also became a member

Quote Originally Posted by SCOTTYGC View Post
    geez mate for some that hates them that much you seem to spend a bit of time there and also became a member
    Did give them ago to start wit mate just to buy a few small items as every fisherman does. I spend alot of time at numerous fishing shops lately as the weather has been shocking!!!Even drove to coffs to see my best mate but really wanted to go do some shopping at mo tackle

I like tackleworld's loyalty program, it leaves BCF membership for dead.
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

Quote Originally Posted by Marlin_Mike View Post
    An IGA??????? Gee next thing you know Evans will have TV and maybe lectricity...LOL

Hey Hey Hey.......don't you go knocking that Electricky stuff.....we got it now & it ain't bad.. ..really sumpthin.

Don.
    "Magpie Navy." VHF 73.

It was a Woman who drove me to Drink......
    ....and I never gave her money for the Petrol......

ha ha bcf is bullsh#t RMG Scorpian 150mm $10.58 norm shelf price at BigW BCF special 2 for $25 norm $15somthing just bullsh#t

Occasionally you can get a bargain, but if you knew the margins on a lot of their products you'd fall over from shock. We all know a business has to make money to survive, and I don't begrudge anyone that, but some product lines (to coin a phrase) really do take the piss.
    Best similar shop I've found nearby is BIAS at Underwood.
    They don't have the same extensive range, but it's not too bad. Most of the guys there are a little older and knowledgeable, and seem happy to help out a noob like myself.

I find them handy for things like jig heads or easy to get lures. I've come across the very occasional staff member who knows their stuff.
    So shines a good deed in a weary world
    - William S Shakespeare and William S Wonka_

Everyone keeps saying support your local tackle store. From what I have seen there aren't too many small tackle stores still around. My previous local tackle store was bought out by BCF. BCF is my local tackle store now. They have a good range of stock, prices are good. I go in there knowing exactly what I want.

Quote Originally Posted by roydsy View Post
    I like tackleworld's loyalty program, it leaves BCF membership for dead.
    how does tackleworld's loyalty program work?

Quote Originally Posted by darylive View Post
    It is the same bloke who set up Supa Cheap Auto.
    No it was started and than sold to the Supercheap auto group but the founder is still the BCF CEO