Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fly Trip to Burumba

esselte

Fly Trip to Burumba

I am new to fly fishing and wish i started earlier. ( I've been missing all the fun )
    I would like to take a trip to Burumba dam to target some Saratoga. What month would be best for this and which flies work best on this species?

Thank you in advance

Jason

Re: Fly Trip to Burumba

G'day mate, I would like to say "Welcome!" to the dark side. Once you go fly, you never go back...

Barumba Dam, I have fished there a heaps of times about a year ago, but only been there twice since, last month being one of those. We caught a bunch of Bass and one Saratoga which was a huge bonus.

I use an 8wt rod due to the large flies and snags etc, but you can use smaller. Leader mono, we use around 12-15lb line due to their boney mouths, but still have been busted of on that size. I have seen them and have lost, some woppas over the magic metre mark with my largest being 99cm (I tried to stretch it out as much as I can)

I use surface poppers and small dahlbergs, sub surface like large muddler minnows etc, but mostly flies that swim around the 1 metre mark i.e. large streamers, clousers , pink things etc sorry mate I am trying to remember the name of the main fly we use, but for the life of me I can't. I make my own flies and mainly use brown and gold and purple and brown colours.

I find that when you do get a take that you need to strike the hook into their boney mouths and if in dought and they do jump heaps, then I find that if you lower your rod tip, this reduces or stops them from jumping. But then again, thats all the fun of catching them is the jumping.

If interested in going up there one day mate, send me a PM and I will take you up there for a fish.

Good luck and remember that the above information is what I do and other fishers may do different, so take this with a grain of salts as they say...