Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread: This is what worry's me about 4 strokes

Re: This is what worry's me about 4 strokes

Hey shiver , have you still got the thumpers ???

Kerry i wonder when we will see lpg outboards, ????

Someone has already thought of that one
    http://www.iwemaenterprise.nl/Marine...ardsystems.htm

Leezor Ta.
    One day when i get my game boat I'll buy a cheap boat with petrols and convert them.
    Seems strange that it's not the done thing with big inboards ????
    Must be a catch that I'm too stupid to see...
    Ta..

FNQ , read f&b mag last night .
    60 hp under water 2 days etc .....
    I know the operator and if it is still alright he'll keep using it.
    But if she is stuffed she is stuffed.
    Lovely piece of pro marketing.
    Now our outboards can run aftrer being drowned.
    Whats next " you can now drown our brand twice ..!!!!"
    Looks like your intial yammie picks , came to the same fate....
    Ta

Wonder if it has something to do with the dangers involved in storing highly flammable compressed gas on a boat? In saying that, I have seen a alot of offroad 4x4's running on gas and even a few diesel racing 4x4's running gas alone without any major explosions, yet...

Yeh Leezor ,
    petrol well it is just totally safe ... lol....

I reckon their all barking up the wrong tree, this is the real future of marine engines

http://www.greencar.com/index.cfm?co...&ArticleID=139

Leezor ,I'd like to know what happens when the hydrogen gets a bit hot .
    Blimp , blimp, bang ....
    At least lpg might suck all the oxygen out of your lungs before it exploded ...... lol..

If they can run a nuclear reactor on a boat, (ok, a bloody big boat) then anything is possible.

I tell you what Leezor those aircraft carriers the yanks have there nuked
    and have been for years.
    What happens when you winch her up on the trailer and you lose the cooling sea water...
    Anyway look how far outboards and diesel inboards have come in the last 15 yrs , lookout in 2020.
    TA

BaysideMarine

Saurian,

Lpg outboards already exist.

See: www.lpgtechnologies.info

Submerged engines (fully submerged) will often be ok if they spend a day or 2 fully submerged as the lack of air prevents them from rusting.

The danger period begins the minute the engine is removed from the water. In order to save the engine it must be stripped within a couple of hours, flushed with fresh water and then bathed in oil and most times it will survive with no ill effects.

But pull it out of the water and leave it for say 6hrs and thats it. Cactus. the surface rust begins on the crank journals and the rods and bearings and its all over..

Quote Originally Posted by saurian
    Kerry i wonder when we will see lpg outboards, ????
    As a funtional everyday replacement for medium sized motors going to have to wait some and then see where the rest of the world is. LPG right now is a rort, along with all the subsidised conversions as it's not as cost effective as many believe.

For an outboard, they have small verions but doubt it would be cost effective for recraetional applications.

Regards, Kerry.