Thread: Huge Tas Atlantics

Huge Tas Atlantics

Hi everyone
    This is my first time putting a pic on so hope all comes out OK.
    These are some Atlantic Salmon my father and I caught at Craigbourne Dam Tas.
    Had a great day, started fishing at day break and had all three by dinner time.
    They weighed 25.5lb, 23lb and 15lb.

Jamie #

Re: Huge Tas Atlantics

Jamie,

Really nice fish, nice to see some reports from the other parts of Aus, what a great country we live in, with all the different varieties available.

Top fish and congratulations again

Regards Trev
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

Thanks Trev
    Days like that are few and far between but stay in your memories for a lifetime hey.

Fubarfish5

awesome fish guys , love to catch one of them . cheers bdowdy

Yeah Mate
    They fight like hell, im the short fat bloke in the pic.
    That fish jumped 9 times and fought on 4kg tackle for 35min.
    I was shakin at the knees every time he came out.
    Like someone throwin besser bricks in the lake.

Jamie

That just keeps you coming back for more and more. Great going guys!

so what lures do you use to get them monsters?....awesome fish!

WoWsErS those are some huge salmon!

Hi Jimmybob
    We actually caught 4 that day 4th one was 6lb not in pic.
    We caught 1 on Berkley Gulp Grub tail soft plastic in pumpkinseed.
    3 on my own lures.
    The Salmon are put and take fish but can be very difficult to catch.
    I have had a lot of success with Berkley soft plastics especially the obove mentioned.
    Work em slow with stop start retrieve on light weight jig head.
    Salmon hit em on the stop.

Jamie

Hi canoedle
    We have caught a lot around the 6 to 10lb mark but these are the biggest so far.
    I am chasin one of the 30lb plus fish to try and knock my father off his pedestal.
    He caught the 25lb.5 fish.
    I'll never hear the end of it.
    The boys from Saltas Salmon farming operation has made a deal with our inland fisheries to stock about half a dozen of our impoundments with ex broodstock fish.
    Some of our hard core Trout fishos say there not the real mcoy but they have certianly improved the fishin in some of our lakes so im not argueing as they are great eating.
    We are not blessed with the variety of freshwater species down here as in many mainland areas and they give all people beginers to experinced anglers a chance of a real trophy fish right at ya back door.
    I have witnessed a 10yr old girl land a 17lb fish from the bank and let me tell ya I reckon she needed surgery to remove the grin.

Jamie

only trouble is that dont put the buggers in lake makani up my neck of the woods, nice fish.
    ps
    located nw tassie

Yeah Blaze
    I think you guys get the short straw up that way a bit.
    I have spoken to a few disapointed guys who live up your way sayin they wont be payin for a licence again if ya arnt looked after a bit better.
    Your closest would be Barrington wouldnt it?
    Maybe this yr.

Jamie

Hi Jamie
    Yeh thats the closest, but if you are going that far the trip up to bradies etc is not much further.
    I think ATM I would rather go north, way north to places like 1770 for the M&G, dosnt cost a whole lot more than a weekend at the lakes or down the east coast (thats if ya say it quick) and the fish are bigger (i hope)

forgot to say welcome to ausfish Jamie
    gotta be the friendlyest fishing web site I know of

Thanks for the welcome blaze
    Yeah very friendly folk indeed on this site, pleasure to be on.
    You got some great sea run trout water up your way.
    Do ya fish the Arthur or Pieman River at all?
    Gonna be a good yr on the sea runners, bin catchin some with whitebait in thier gut in the Derwent above Bridgewater already.
    Bin using Pretty fish trolled slow on an Archer on the top and on lead core down deep.
    No monsters as yet but will be soon.
    Got a 9.5lb fish last season and a few more over 5.

Jamie