Thread: Catching Threadies?

Catching Threadies?

Just want a head start.
    But what have you guys found what they like to take?
    What livies?Lures?Casting?Trolling?

Re: Catching Threadies?

No expert, but we accidently caught some about 9 years ago in the Calliope River in Gladstone, whilst retrieving our prawny baits. They seem to hand near the edges, and strike anything that moves. I reckon they'd love lures. Fish on!

we've caught blue salmon up at clairview. seen one 4foot long swim 2m from the boat this was over a rocky bottom about 3m deep

u also get them on the deep side of sandbar channels.

a good trick is to have a float on the line and the bait 1m below the float

for bait. generally go for prawns. nice big fresh local prawns
    live prawns are teh definite go.

Jack_Lives_Here

Had them smashing bait all around us last year at Hinchinbrook but couldn't turn a scale. Managed a few blueys but not threadies. We could see 'em mooching around in the shallows with half their backs out of the water.

Gunna give 'em a whirl on the wand with a prawn fly this year, apparently that's the go.

Jack

Roman,

land based you would be looking to walk out to the front of buff creek on the large sand bar. fish the changing low tide as ya would for barra, except look to the flat type aeras a little more. Other wise they are all through the harbor and bynoe harbor etc. West arm has good numbers and they are caught of channel island and the east arm boat ramp aeras (both land based).

They eat mullets but when we get the jelly prawn runs, then prawns are the go and even then it is hard. YOu get them on dead squid, lures and fly, but I'm yet to take one fly but have seen it.

normal barra haunts are threadie haunts just like the catfish...

Muz

Alright cool.
    Thanks guys for the replies all where helpful.
    Will give those things ago, muz.

G'day Roman.
    Had a ball with them a few years back on the Mary river. They were pretty fussy and were slamming bait in real shallow. We got a few small blue salmon using chrome slices because: 1. it was too shallow and 2. the lure was the approximate size of the bait (50mm).
    Had a few follow the fly when it was stripped flat out back to the boat, but they wouldn't take it (any ideas there muz???)
    Last year dad's mate got one 94 cm on a lure, but not sure what. The ones we got on lures were all on rattlin spots and chrome slices (both chrome lures) in dirty water.

Good luck!
    They pull like heck!

Cheers, Slates

Yet to take one on flt have come close but no cigar...

have seen many fish with pink things in there gobs (small ones like 1/0 and below) also the jelly prawn fly is said to work I'm yet to get it right...

Muz

havent tried properly either I just fish general rather than target one species...