Thread: Best Baits for Mangrove Jacks?

Far_Canal

Re: Best Baits for Mangrove Jacks?

Quote Originally Posted by cuzzamundi
    gday,

thanks all, some great tips there. believe it or not, i nailed one in the nerang last year on bloody ox kidney! i met a bloke who swore by it, so i gave it a whirl, and whammo!!! unreal. used quite a large chunk on a 4/0 and he took it with gusto! the livies were untouched but they smacked the kidney. other than that, just all the other usuals already mantioned work really well. i find too that some locations biddies work better than poddies, and vice versa. ah, just have to keep fishen and get a definitive answer maybe by the time i'm 80!

cuzza
    A bloke that goes by the nickname of Chopper by any chance ?

Ill confirm the ox kidney and also lamb liver, very good for big bream and likewise jacks.

gday JACKpot,
    thats him mate! you know him? he was getting heaps as i undersdtand last season on this bait! was on the fishnet site that i look at once every coupla months. but yeah, when we tried his method - eureka!!!

cuzza

turkey_beach_boy

i like to use fresh cut gar or mullet.live green back herring.late arvo or early morin is good.throw behind rocks as tide is comin in.