Thread: ...where do I start?

...where do I start?

I'm almost too embarrased to ask this question ...but what the heck....nobody knows who I am.
    I have never been a serious fisherman and so it's about time I learnt.
    So, how do I learn what equipment to use and where are the best fishing spots etc etc?
    I have just bought my first boat and will be using the ramps around Cleveland/Victoria Point.
    Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated (but please be gentle....it's my first time).

Horrie

Re: ...where do I start?

You can learn mostly everything right here.
    Have a read of the reports section and see what people are catching. If you lucky you might read what they used to catch their feed but if not, just ask.
    You can also read the saltwater and freshwater sections as theres plenty of info about what gear/bait to use for various species there.
    Shane

Heya Horrie

The more info you can give the better the feedback you will get. What size boat for starters? a 10ft punt would be best for creeks and rivers, a 20 footer might have you thinking about going further afield. Where you fish is going to have a big bearing on the fish you will be chasing and the gear.

Are you wanting fish to eat, that will try and rip your ams off, something to throw plastics at and release etc. Do you already have fishing gear? If so what size type (roughly).

ditto, be more specific and you'll get lots of help.

I joined Ausfish when i got my boat (Nov last year) - asked focussed questions and got a hell of alot back. Also use the search facilities and check previous posts - there's tons of stuff here

Welcome, by the way.

Catchy Fishy

Mate,

We all started somewhere. If you have to start at the beginning of a sport, you couldn't find a better one than fishing. Fishos are probably one of the most "mate conscious" groups of individuals you'll ever find.

Ask and you will receive - heaps.