Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast

Thread: Bay Mackerel M & G

As JB said, we're in. I'm keen as, especially with all these reports floating around full of spotties! We'll be bagged out and 'socialising' by 9am Saturday if the reports stay true
    Webby, just to clear up, 'cos theres a few VHF channels being mentioned, what channel are we operating on?
    Dane

All The Info.

I dare say 27meg 91 and VHF 73?

I'll be listening in, so no fudging you guys...........i want a good clean fight for positions around the mac schools, and as I cant attend due to being on VMR roster, can someone bring me back a Big Mac? Sorry had to get that one in.........

Best of luck guys, hope the weather holds. And remember again........log in to who ever from where you launch at.

Geday Marlin_Mike ,
    Which VMR are you with ?
    Searaider 2

Looks like the weather gods are going to turn the fans on this weekend at present, we may need you?????

Never been to a meet and greet yet, but am keen.......
    Will head over from Whyte Island on Saturday for a look!

Look forward to meeting a few keen fishos!

who's looking for a deckie

G'day matz
    who's looking for a deckie my reg boat is full so i am looking for a spot as a deckie if any are available give me a yell
    thankz johno
    mobil 0412637197
    07 38189535

johno

Webby,

I reckon by late Thursday arvo we'll have a better idea of the weather gods mood.....right now its looking like a bumpy trip from cleveland!! Anyway, might be worth doing a post with all details around that time....where and when we'll meet, (some have asked for gps marks for the camp area) red flags etc., radio monitoring, etc. Anyway...here's hoping the blow lessens by friday night!! If its still up, and with the reports suggesting they're more keen on trolled baits and lures, might have a slow trip up with a couple of silvers out the back!

Lawry

Quote Originally Posted by rakinray View Post

The other thing you need to be careful of is if you are going to camp on the island you need a permit
    Further to Ray's comment above, I emailed the Ranger and got the following response:

Darren,

If you choose to camp at the Wrecks Campground, we would appreciate it if you would flag down a ranger or walk north along the beach for 1 kilometre and purchase a permit from the ranger base(if you reach BenEwa Campground, you have gone too far). Our office is attended from 7am-8am and 3pm-3.30pm. Camping costs $4.50per person per night. Please be aware that if you wish to have a campfire, you must bring your own firewood and that no domestic animals are allowed on Moreton island.

Justin Kreis

Ranger

Moreton Island National Park

Ph 07 3408 2710

Fax 07 3408 2555

justin.kreis@epa.qld.gov.au

I have to stop looking at Seabreeze every couple of hours as it just keeps getting worse At least it might keep the crowds at home and give the schools some breathing space

If it looks too lumpy for most to head over do we postpone or move down to the Rainbow (base at Blakesleys or something)

Rainbow is not a bad alternative, and only a quick run over from Cleveland

might be quick run from cleveland but bloody long way from woody point. Just hoping for winds to back off a little.

Well folks, if the forecast predictions for the weekend stay true, she'll be a marathon effort trying to cross those wild waters with 1.5m seas, as that's what it will be like. especially once you pass the island and face the full front of the paddock, and it wont be pretty.
    Even Neils suggestion of the Rainbow doesnt look to flash at present either.
    So old mother nature has done it again at the moment.
    Will give till thursdays or fridays morning forecast before we can it.
    Then will delay till the following weekend, which will upset the plans of many, but thats the only option for those still interested.
    Unless we commandeer a container ship.

Your call Webby.You know that area better than any of us.
    Still getting everything ready just in case the Weather Gods are kind to us.
    May still head out around Mud if the weekend is called off.

Cheers Dazza

G/ day all, hey Brian sounds a bit like our last trip out to the paddock thats the problem with you bay boys a little breeze and a nasty 1.5 mt bay chop and you all go soft ! lol I still think it might drop out on friday but if it dont then im with you about trying next week end.

CHEERS RAY