Thread: MOZZIES!!

MOZZIES!!

Being a succulant white Victorian, the QLD mozzies find me irresistable - more so for my dear wife while my old man (a seasoned QLD-er) remains itch-less!

Last time I was in the NT (shady camp), the mozzies were that keen tog et me they were biting me through a canvass chair (the chair had no 'off' on it)!!

What are everyone's secret remdies, preventions and best 'bug-off' remedies?

Cheers, Slates

Re: MOZZIES!!

Slates,
    I don't get them as bad as my wife either but do get smashed by sandflies or midgies. Flat out-RID sprayon and cover yourself head to toe,just keep your eyes and mouth shut. Works for me.
    Luke

There are a terrific amount of different brands of insect repellent on the market these days but for mine you can't go past Bushmans. It works a treat for both mozzies and sandflies.

Then again, I remember meeting an old bloke years ago who swore by diesel mixed with mangrove mud.

Derek

yeah, I reckon the bushmans and rid work a treat, but it does say "not for prolonged use" which makes you wonder if you'll produce 3-headed offspring. ???

Love the diesel + mud!
    hehe

I've seen one bloke get absolutely hammered at shady camp one year after making bets with us (that he wouldn't get bitten) using baby oil and detol.

Cheers, Slates

imported_admin

Bushmans and Rid certainly work but the thing that worries me is the fact they contain DEET. The warning of "Not for prolonged use" and "Do not use on children", etc. is enough warning to me not to use it.

More info can be obtained from
    http://www.epa.gov/opp00001/citizens/deet.htm

For a safe, natural product have a look at the Aussie made Walkabout Insect Repellent from http://www.thursdayplantation.com.au

Unfortunately, I am one of those people that the mossies and midgies just love to have a chomp at. Then I am itchy for nearly the next week. Tried the deet free "autan" or something like that. Pretty gutless. There is a herbal one that seems to be ok, but nothing works like rid and the like. I just try to avoid being in places at times when they are feeling a bit nippy. Unfortunately, this is a bit restrictive in QLD, there's so many places I want to go but think, na, too painful!!! I'll check out those websites, and see if there are any fantastic alternatives.

Slates do a 50/50 miz of detol and baby oil, you can add a little metho to reduce to lubed up feel.

This stuff works when others fail. All the store stuff works but for about 15 mins or so.

I reckon mortien mozzie coils are the ducks nuts when it comes to coils but.

You can have your mix in one of those spray bottle things its cheap and it works mate.

Shady camp is just physco with mozzies, I have seen people pull up camp and go home cause of them. Some blokes have a hose in their tents so they can go to the tiolet with out opening the tent. They drink the fly spray and eat you through your shirt. I had this one tin of army issue stuff that you had to spray on your shirt 10 mins before you could wear it, that stuff worked but I cant get it again.

What a joke hey shady camp, the bloke who discovered the place must have had a sick sence of humor there is one bloody tree, ya cant camp near it for the mozzies bats and cocky's, but hey the fishing is how you say hot!

mate, spot on about that 'shady camp' - at least they have a decent pub at wilderness lodge (geez we funneled some cash through there via bundy cans!).

The mozzies there were beserk! I had them slamming me through a canvas chair - I was marinated in "OFF', but the chair had nothin on it -so they pigged out!
    Also, a few leeches found their way into me mates swag and he looked like he'd tried to take out a machine-gun nest with a fly swat!

One thing tho, the bites didn't seem to niggle you the next day - they took their blood and were on their way - not like those damned Clarence river sandlfies!!! They keep itching for days!

Cheers, Slates

PS: thanks for the no-moz recipe

Slates,

Rumour has it that those little buggers don't like the smell (or taste) of Vitamin B. Apparently if you take vitamin B capsules, something comes out in your sweat which the critters find distasteful.
    I occasionally scoff a Cenovis Mega-B tablet (keep up the youthful looks and vigour, you know ) and I find that when I do, I tend to have a mozzy-free day. Mind you, my missus reckons that no self-respecting insect would bite me anyway, Vitamin B or no.
    Think if I had to resort to diesel and mangrove mud though, I'd probably find something else to do for the day

Jim Linden

Tried that one Jin. I take two Mega B's every day. Was up at Kaurie Creek last weekend and the sandflies and mozzies nearly lifted me off the ground. Forget about the youthful looks and vigour mate. I know it don't work.

Derek

adrian

I use bushman's or aeroguard with no problems but I think it's the smell of aeroguard that keeps them away . my mates use the vit b but they get eaten while I don't . also cover up as much as possible and you might be ok

Derek,
    How did you go down at Kaurie Ck.?
    The wife and I are new to the area and went for a drive the other day and checked out Boonooroo, Poona, Tinnanbar, etc. We're pretty keen on taking the 'van down for a few days at Tinnanbar in the near future and giving Kaurie a nudge. Looked like nice water.
    One of the locals warned us that the local fauna down there can be pretty friendly on a warm, humid day.
    Hmmmmmmm - wonder what would happen if I substituted Viagra for the Mega-B's?

Jim Linden

If you turn right at the boat ramp run up about 150 metres there will be a creek to your right. It's called Mosquito Creek. At the mouth of it there is a rocky hole on the left. Good place for jacks and barra on live bait also school jew. As a matter of fact Kauri turns up a number of barra every year but most keep quiet about it. I have also heard of threadfin salmon being caught.

Apart from that you can pull jacks from most of the small creeks that run into Kauri. Heaps of big whiting on the drop offs from the sand banks together with flathead. Good bream in winter and tops for muddies in season although it may be a bit early yet.

Run down to the mouth and just out the front on the southern bank is reef area where you may pick up cod, parrot and blackall.

There are heaps of yabby banks around and you can get heaps of livies with a cast net.

Did you see the fish cleaning tables complete with fish holders. Fantastic. Will try and get i pic in Bush "n Beach next month.

Be careful with the viagra mate. If you leave it lying around and the mozzies get hold of it there'll be no hope for any of us. The snorkels on the buggers feel huge now, just think what it will be like if they are on viagra. Suck all your blood out of you in seconds.

Derek

Geez, Derek,

I had to wipe my keyboard down before I could reply - I was drooling that much reading your post

The old-timer we talked to at the 'van park said there was a "Barra" hole just up from the Kauri ramp in the vicinity of a white sign on the bank. We saw the sign upstream from the ramp (something to do with the Army, I believe), and it would have been roughly in the area you have described.

Didn't notice the tables you mentioned - guess that would be at the ramp that faces Fraser at Tinnanbar, not the one on Kauri. The mangrove-covered point (Cowra point) between Tinnanbar and Kauri looks pretty interesting too.

All in all, a very fishy looking bit of water - can't wait to get down and give it a nudge.

Yeah. think I'll give the Viagra idea a miss - if I took 'em it would probably only end up interfering with the fishing

Jim Linden

Those fish cleaning tables are at the Kaurie Creek ramp. They looked brand new to me.

That sign you mentioned is right on the corner of Mosquito Creek.

Let me know how you go.

Derek