Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Lake Awonga new campground

Ausfish Bronze Member

Lake Awonga new campground

Gudday all,
    This is my first time here. The Australian Fishing Chat looks great, very impressive. I heard that a new campground has been opened at Lake Awonga (near Gladstone / Benaraby) located on the western side of the lake. Can someone please confirm this new caravan park and where exactly is it? How do I get there? Is it hilly in the park or is it flat? Thank you for you replies and help.
    The Eagle

Needmorerum

Re: Lake Awonga new campground

Welcome to the site Eagle, I'm from Gladdy, but I haven't heard of a new camp site at the dam. Mind you, that doesn't mean that there isn't one. Probably pay to give them a call and see what the go is.

Corry

Hi

Mark Griggs did a good write-up on this in the June edition of Bush 'N Beach.

Construction is currently underway for a bush camping ground on the western side of the lake with road access via the Mount Calliope Road. The site will include a toilet block but I am not sure what other facilities. It is due for completion by December 2005.

Cheers

Derek

ratsack

The area in question is on the western side where Futter creek joins the lake. The road used to be the Taragoola road until the lake all but filled, now it is a boat ramp. My understanding is when the lake fills to maximum alll of this ground will go under so I cannot imagine the water board sinking too much money into the area. Over the June LWE and Easter the area was packed with campers. Ski group has moved in there as well. Heard a story that some of the campers left their garbage there and the Water board was considering closing access again. Mus go have another look and see what is happening

Needmorerum

I'm heading up to Kroombit Tops camping for the weekend on Saturday, if I have time on the way up or down, I will drop in for a look.

Corry