Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Boat ownership cost vs benefit

Re: Boat ownership cost vs benefit

I have 2 boats. The small one gets used almost weekly (weather and commitments allowing) and provides family & friends a meal and some bloody good memories.
    The 'big' boat in the shed hasn't seen water for about 3 years, but like everything else in my shed, I keep it coz one day I might use it.

Sell either? Nope.
    Be completely without a boat. Never.
    Take up golf? Even less likely.

Bugger the cost of ownership. I'd just waste the money they cost doing something far less enjoyable in my retirement.
    What price do you put on quality of life? For me at least. The fishing/boating bug hit me very early in life. Happily, it's here to stay.

Gurn

Another important consideration of the benefit of boat ownership vs cost is the social aspect.
    Although I quite enjoy my own company and often fish solo, the company and banter that goes hand in hand with an 'assortment' of deckies - friends & relations - that reinforce friendships can't be understated.
    'Male bonding' (and sometimes female) is unavoidable on a boat. Regardless of social station, everyone is a 'common grub' when fishing.
    The facades fall away and the soul is revealed.
    Connections can be made where other situations or circumstances wouldn't allow.
    And it doesn't stop on the boat.
    Few people in our circle refuse a fresh seafood meal and line up at the door with knives, forks and lemon slices in hand at every invitation.
    Always a good excuse to socialise. (and brag)
    Cost/benefit analysis. ....
    Well worth the investment.

Gurn

I had my 18.5 fibreglass "Gin Palace", as my serious fisho brother called, it for 3 years. After selling I worked out that each day out cost about $250 with depreciation, fuel, maintenance,etc. We had some great days and even the bad ones were an experience. This was backed up when a friend told me how much a ferry trip to Tangalooma costs... unbelievable.
    Can't put fish in the equation because I caught bugger all.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Volvo View Post
    Just got back inside from re -rigging my Rods from yesterdays outing with Wife,Daughter and Grandchild. Not to mention another Rod n reel purchased from BCF that in no way did i need , but the cost was right and both Rod n reel looked the Goods so made the purchase.
    Now ?? if i didnt have my Boat to own all this unnesacerry gear where would i be lol??..
    On a seriouse note though Chris , if your Kids / Familly arent going hungry or having to sleep outside because life isnt going to right way and you havent Creditors knocking on your door then why not enjoy what turns you on??..
    You dont spend and enjoy it Gov or others will come knocking and take it off you anyway !! or Stock losses and lose it from your Super that you were forced to invest in so your not a burden on the Government..
    Had a caravan as mentioned above and rather enjoyed it not to mention selling my Reef Boat due to little use due to the van on the road , then Familly issues came a nockin via illness's etc , Covid and van was sitting idle so sold it ..
    Then we have no boat and no van and all those helped enjoy your reef Boat are ..
    Trust me Life is a pain in the butt without either .. So back to Boat ownership . two since the sale of the Van and havent regretted either one although i did make $$ both on van and previouse Boat so cannot complain..
    What i am trying to say is Once yourve been bitten by the Sea / Fishing and its peace of mind sipping a coffee whilst waiting for a Fish to came along and play ..
    Its a tad like laying back on a tarp next to an open fire out in the middle of nowhere looking up at the Stars wandering about creation lol..
    You cant go back!!..
    Or should add "Pray Not "..
    If one was to weigh up the cost of Fish Vs Boat ownership , Fish markets would be the winners lol , mind you doubt if the freshness purchasing from Fish Board would be equal to catching your own.
    Also if you have a large familly that likes Fish to chew on why should they be forced to purchase it if you own a Boat and can catch it yourself??.. So Boat ownership can have a wee bit of an advantage sometimes ey..
    Thanks for that mate

My situation is not about the need to sell the boat for any financial reason (thankfully) ........ & that is probably part of the dilemma

Even the eating of fish ....... I like fresh fish - (unfrozen) & love my sashimi (ditto on the unfrozen) ..... so taking a lot of fish home is never a priority & infact I usually let my deckie take most of the fish with them . When away on a trip I'll eat fish most days . I do enjoy dropping some fresh fish off to my daughter ...... they appreciate it .

It's a demon I'm dealing with - Yes Love the boat .... I look forward to my annual Evans Head trip & the other big trip that I end up doing . It's just without these two trips .... I dont feel overly motivated on dragging the boat out ..... unless I can get away on a Friday night & come back on a Sunday arvo . I think in part that's where this is coming from ..... the lack of opportunity to use the boat .

Fishing will always be part of my life - so if the boat was sold - I would be planning some kind of adventure - a couple of trips a year .... infact come next weekend I'll be catching up with a mate in Brissy to plan out a charter trip in 2023 ....... so already 2023 will be cut down to 1 trip with the BC in tow.

One of the things is that I bought the bigger CC to open the options for those bigger trips - getting out to those NQ reefs etc ..... in 5 years that hasn't really panned out because of weather . 2 trips to the Whitsundays , 1 to Lucinda & 1 to Etty bay ....... that's equated to around 5 days where we have been able to get out wide . Still enjoyed the trips though & I continue to plan those trips up north .

My old mate (deckie) has just bought a top ender ...... maybe we need to see if our NQ trips could be built around his boat - he loves his barra / jack fishing .

But hey , really do appreciate your input

Quote Originally Posted by TheGurn View Post
    I have 2 boats. The small one gets used almost weekly (weather and commitments allowing) and provides family & friends a meal and some bloody good memories.
    The 'big' boat in the shed hasn't seen water for about 3 years, but like everything else in my shed, I keep it coz one day I might use it.

Sell either? Nope.
    Be completely without a boat. Never.
    Take up golf? Even less likely.

Bugger the cost of ownership. I'd just waste the money they cost doing something far less enjoyable in my retirement.
    What price do you put on quality of life? For me at least. The fishing/boating bug hit me very early in life. Happily, it's here to stay.

Gurn
    I probably should not of sold my 2nd boat - the 5m Seajay barramasta was easily hooked up & would cover a hell of a lot of fishing scenarios - specially after upgrading to the 100hp yammi . Selling it just paid off the Barcrusher ...... but in hindsight ..... I do regret it as it was a pretty bloody good boat . .... put it on a dual axle trailer & it would be great to continue those adventures .

Quote Originally Posted by TheGurn View Post
    Another important consideration of the benefit of boat ownership vs cost is the social aspect.
    Although I quite enjoy my own company and often fish solo, the company and banter that goes hand in hand with an 'assortment' of deckies - friends & relations - that reinforce friendships can't be understated.
    'Male bonding' (and sometimes female) is unavoidable on a boat. Regardless of social station, everyone is a 'common grub' when fishing.
    The facades fall away and the soul is revealed.
    Connections can be made where other situations or circumstances wouldn't allow.
    And it doesn't stop on the boat.
    Few people in our circle refuse a fresh seafood meal and line up at the door with knives, forks and lemon slices in hand at every invitation.
    Always a good excuse to socialise. (and brag)
    Cost/benefit analysis. ....
    Well worth the investment.

Gurn
    Could not agree more

My Evans Head trip is my annual catch up with an old mate from Qld ...... we meet up what is about half way & have a ball .

Unfortunately my main deckie retired & moved north ..... around 3 hrs away .

My young bloke who is around 2 hrs south - works Sundays .

a good deckie is worth their weight in gold

A big part of of my going away is a combination of the chat when driving - the fishing yahoo & the crap talk at the end of the day .

i'm hearing ya

Quote Originally Posted by TheRealPoMo View Post
    I had my 18.5 fibreglass "Gin Palace", as my serious fisho brother called, it for 3 years. After selling I worked out that each day out cost about $250 with depreciation, fuel, maintenance,etc. We had some great days and even the bad ones were an experience. This was backed up when a friend told me how much a ferry trip to Tangalooma costs... unbelievable.
    Can't put fish in the equation because I caught bugger all.

do you reckon you would have got the same out of a planned trip using a guide or charter ? .

I ask because a mate in Brissy talks about the charter we did in Weipa 3 years ago ....... good boat , accom & laid out for us ...... no cleaning of boats , meals prepared ...... good fishing .
    We certainly had a great social trip & why it is being spoken of again .

Half the fun of fishing for me is the hobby of fitting out the boat to be the best it can be when I do go fishing. Each time I go away creek fishing or offshore, I find at least one thing I need to do to make the next trip more enjoyable. Usually that entails something that enhances the amount of bottom time I’m getting as skipper. Wether that’s storage to make re-rigging quicker, or uncluttering the deck. it’s something to pass the time when the weather is bad (bring out another thousand). The goal to be just to rig the rods up and load up ice before heading out next time.

There’s still a few more mods I want to get done on the Webster before a gulf trip next year. But that’s a little boat I can use all the time as I have the Maroochydore, Mooloolah, Noosa and pumicestone passage within 35 minutes of me.
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post
    Half the fun of fishing for me is the hobby of fitting out the boat to be the best it can be when I do go fishing. Each time I go away creek fishing or offshore, I find at least one thing I need to do to make the next trip more enjoyable. Usually that entails something that enhances the amount of bottom time I’m getting as skipper. Wether that’s storage to make re-rigging quicker, or uncluttering the deck. it’s something to pass the time when the weather is bad (bring out another thousand). The goal to be just to rig the rods up and load up ice before heading out next time.

There’s still a few more mods I want to get done on the Webster before a gulf trip next year. But that’s a little boat I can use all the time as I have the Maroochydore, Mooloolah, Noosa and pumicestone passage within 35 minutes of me.
    I'm hearing you ...... tinkering is one of the joys for me as well .
    Having a CC you are always looking to improve storage - dry & cold ...... my boat has 4 ice boxes - the seat box is dry storage , I have a 24lt bait box , 70lt split lid down the back that's used for food ,drink & ice .... then there is the 158lt engel mackerel box up front ...... not only is it fish storage but by virtue of its size & how it fits is part of the front cast deck extension . It took me the best part of 4 years to get to that point . Batteries there is another one ..... going with four LiFePO$ - I've pulled near to 90kgs out of the boat . Playing with motor height ..... that was an interesting exercise - what a difference that made . Mini bait station - awesome .

As I said .... I hear you & there is something about sitting in the boat with a beer & just chill out ...... think about where you should spend some more money on her ........ sounders perhaps

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    do you reckon you would have got the same out of a planned trip using a guide or charter ? .

I ask because a mate in Brissy talks about the charter we did in Weipa 3 years ago ....... good boat , accom & laid out for us ...... no cleaning of boats , meals prepared ...... good fishing .
    We certainly had a great social trip & why it is being spoken of again .

Hey Nagg, no I should clarify...the boat was always an escape pod for me and the missus, not really about fishing. Charters are great for focused fishing for numpties like me who lack the resources and skill of most others here.
    Heading out from Scarborough at dawn on a glassy May morning and spending a day over there was like a mini vacation 30 minutes away. To do it on the ferry would not be the same...I just always thought it was much cheaper but that makes boat ownership more attractive, despite being a driveway ornament 95% of the time.

Depends on the charter I guess
    I wouldn’t say people who are just unskilled use them

I just listed my boat for sale and wills we how it goes for twelve months before committing to another

Chris i hear what your saying re you 5mtr Seajay.
    Do i miss my bigger Platey ?? , yes offcourse i do.
    Would i go back to a Bigger Platey ?? , Def Not .
    Getting too old and lack of strength , energy , plus back wouldnt allow it lol.
    Bigger Platey would mostly get used foe Reef Trips only when weather n Seas allowed whereas my 5.2 Seajay so easy to hook up n go mostly whenever i wish now though mostly for estuary Fishing though come a Flat Seas wouldnt hesitate ventuaring further.
    On another note being addicted to Fishing im on the water sometimes two three times a week wind allowing.
    This week alone three times for Grandkids chasing Whiting with hardly 20 ltrs of fuel used.
    The biggest benefit is not the Fish but the enjoyement of the Company with the Grandkids whilst time n age allows.
    I as well as most others of our age with Grandchildren wish to make memories whilst we can and Fishing / Boating is one of those ways.
    Will be sad day when i cannot do so no more though a time which will come fer sure .
    If the cost is not a burden continue with your Boating be it small or bigger in size .

Quote Originally Posted by stevej View Post
    Depends on the charter I guess
    I wouldn’t say people who are just unskilled use them

I just listed my boat for sale and wills we how it goes for twelve months before committing to another
    100% ..... I 've been on charters where you are guided based on your skill set - you just need to find the right ones

A big benefit of a guide in a new area - it cuts down the time getting to know a place ...... Our Weipa trip using "Fish's fly & sportfishing charters " was a great example .....

I’ll be out of the country for 6 months if the year with my new job so just makes sense

Can always buy another

Work before boats atm, wouldn’t it be lively if you did t have to work and could have what you wanted

Quote Originally Posted by Volvo View Post
    Chris i hear what your saying re you 5mtr Seajay.
    Do i miss my bigger Platey ?? , yes offcourse i do.
    Would i go back to a Bigger Platey ?? , Def Not .
    Getting too old and lack of strength , energy , plus back wouldnt allow it lol.
    Bigger Platey would mostly get used foe Reef Trips only when weather n Seas allowed whereas my 5.2 Seajay so easy to hook up n go mostly whenever i wish now though mostly for estuary Fishing though come a Flat Seas wouldnt hesitate ventuaring further.
    On another note being addicted to Fishing im on the water sometimes two three times a week wind allowing.
    This week alone three times for Grandkids chasing Whiting with hardly 20 ltrs of fuel used.
    The biggest benefit is not the Fish but the enjoyement of the Company with the Grandkids whilst time n age allows.
    I as well as most others of our age with Grandchildren wish to make memories whilst we can and Fishing / Boating is one of those ways.
    Will be sad day when i cannot do so no more though a time which will come fer sure .
    If the cost is not a burden continue with your Boating be it small or bigger in size .
    Thanks .....

It's a real bitch when you love so many different styles of fishing ...... I seriously could own two boats -- the bigger off shore boat & a smaller crossover .

My problem is that the fishing that I really love ....... casting lures for barra - is so far away . Back here in Sydney ..... I could do some lure casting for jewies - unfortunately our offshore snapper fishing is deep water ...... which I don't enjoy - therefore I have to travel .

I love my trips north ...... but having the right boat is is the challenge - the seajay was capable - specially if the weather played the game . The barcrusher will bring you home though ..... even in the worst conditions .

It will be interesting come Oct - reef , estuary & impoundment ...... that will test the Barcrusher & might just give me the answer to my dilemma