Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stuck anchor in ocean swell - Safe way to retrieve ?

Question Stuck anchor in ocean swell - Safe way to retrieve ?

Hi All,

There is a very knowledgeable boating group here, and I had a situation on the water. As I'm new to dealing with ocean swell, I wanted to ask what is best practice to a situation I was in.

So I am on the boat alone, weather and conditions are beautiful, normally if alone, I would stay in Cockburn sound, but in these conditions, I decide to head out to 5 fathom bank and chase a Dhufish or Snapper, which is located here....

279228905_455529603008938_2515529105373266067_n.jpg

There was rocky reef and sand patches underneath, its about 8 to 10 meters of water. swell is between 1 and 2 meters, I was using a sand anchor, and aimed to put it in a sand patch, with almost all rope out, maybe 40 to 50 meters.

So I'm by myself and in a 5.2 meter half cab, start the engine in idle(in case of emergency), and climb forward through the hatch and pull in the anchor. I pulled the boat to where the boat is on top of the anchor, and I cant get it off the bottom. Its obviously stuck in the rocks. No matter what I cant get it loose, and when the swell comes, its pulling rope out of my hands as the boat lifts.

So, I was thinking about cutting the rope and counting my losses, but conditions were turning, but still comfortable so I decided to try using the boat.

So I tie the rope onto the anchor tie off with a bit of slack, and slowly drive forward, past the anchor, which lifts the anchor off the reef, or breaks it free, anyway, its loose, so I pull it in and off I go with a feed of fish(no Dhuey though)

Thinking about that after, and considering the swell, did I put myself in a dodgy situation there ?

As in, I have a habit of over thinking everything, but what if the anchor held the bow down, and a 2 meter swell came in?

Could it pull the bow under and swamp the boat, or would the lift of the boat just snap the rope off ??