Thread: Trailer Winch & Cordless Drill

Trailer Winch & Cordless Drill

Thought I'd start a thread on using your cordless drill to winch the boat on to the trailer
    I've seen a few people mentioning it in other threads but thought it deserves a thread of it's own
    I've been doing it for the last two years and apart from the winch needing to be shimmed to take up the lateral slack it works really well
    My boat is a 5 metre glass cuddy cab that is pretty heavy with all the usual crap installed, Anchor winch, dual batteries, 115hp outboard & far too much fishing gear etc
    The winch is an Atlantic 15:1 /5:1 /1:1
    https://thewinchwarehouse.com.au/col...and-winch-rope
    The drill I'm using is an AEG 18 volt Brushless with a 7/8 socket and it does it pretty easily
    Pretty keen to see other peoples setups and uses because this is a pretty easy and cheap way to haul the boat up on to the trailer, So show us what you got

IMG_20210305_162258153.jpg

IMG_20210305_155438082_HDR.jpg

IMG_20210305_155338151_HDR.jpg

Ausfish Platinum Member

Re: Trailer Winch & Cordless Drill

I have 150 hp on the transom that "winches " it on really well. Especially solo. That aside, I did try using a good 18V 1/2" drive impact driver once on a previous boat, and it wouldn't shift it? Can't recall if I tried it on the lowest ratio. Looking at old mate in the video above, it was perfect to just drive on?

Quote Originally Posted by ranmar850 View Post
    Looking at old mate in the video above, it was perfect to just drive on?
    Yeah I don't think an impact driver is the right thing somehow That was me in the video
    I could drive it on but prefer to wind it up, I don't have a boat catch so it would be more of a pain for me, Drive it on and leave it in gear and hop out hook it up then hop back in and turn it off etc
    One of my older boats that was setup for it I used to drive on but this is just as easy really