Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Help with a flat start battery

Help with a flat start battery

Hi Guys

Currently having an issue with a flat battery which has been unable to start my 50HP Honda outboard on two occasions in the Brisbane river . Both times I have had to jump start the motor using the bow AGM battery which is used exclusively for the bow electric motor. The Seamaster start battery is only 14 months old and fully recharges overnight and tests 800CCA when fully charged only to slowly discharge over a two week period despite weekly use. I have checked the instrument wiring and cannot identify any obvious electrical short in the starter circuit for the motor, although I am no expert in this field. The depth sounder, bilge pump and navigation lights run off a separate circuit from another smaller battery. No switches have been left on.

I was wondering if the Honda analogue speedometer may be the cause. I noticed a small huntsman spider inside the casing a few weeks ago and it is now gone, presumably dead inside the unit.. Could this be causing a short as the speedo no longer works when underway? Can anyone suggest other possible causes for this problem? I am not sure how to check for any slow power draw using a multimeter and YouTube videos on the subject are not all that helpful.

Thanks for any help in advance. SS

Re: Help with a flat start battery

Quote Originally Posted by seastrength View Post
    Hi Guys