Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Minimum power for half cabin

Minimum power for half cabin

Hi,

I'm new to boating and just got a 5.5m half cabin with a loud, 2 stroke, really old engine. Looking at a the 4 stroke Honda BF40 to replace.

Is this a reliable motor? Any issue I need to be aware of when inspecting the motor?
    Would it be grossly underpowered for my hull?

Looking to mostly cruise on the Swan river in Perth, perhaps on the very rare occasion venture close out to sea but not far.

Thank you!

Re: Minimum power for half cabin

Quote Originally Posted by trasten View Post
    Hi,

I'm new to boating and just got a 5.5m half cabin with a loud, 2 stroke, really old engine. Looking at a the 4 stroke Honda BF40 to replace.

Is this a reliable motor? Any issue I need to be aware of when inspecting the motor?
    Would it be grossly underpowered for my hull?

Looking to mostly cruise on the Swan river in Perth, perhaps on the very rare occasion venture close out to sea but not far.

Thank you!
    Sounds like it would be grossly underpowered - ie you would want 90 hp at least. What hp is on it now? How it performs now would be a clue. It would help if you gave the make and model of the boat as well.

It has a 80hp motor at the moment. The rego says it was made by Chivers, a WA company.

I found these videos:

I don't have to go nearly as fast as that guy.

Yes but bear in mind that it is an aluminium boat which will be lighter and probably have a shallower deadrise. It also appears to be completely unladen. You would probably be better off with your existing motor if it is running OK.

Following the thread below suggests a much lower power as backup eg 4hp. Would have thought 40hp would be ok for river use? Thank you.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...kup-motor-tips

for a planning hull you need enough hp to break the suction affect and get up on top of the water, you then reduce power to hold it there