Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Backup motor tips

Backup motor tips

Hi,

I'm new to boating. Are there guidelines for having a second motor? I have an 18' half cabin. Main motor is 80 hp. Previous owner said he had 60 hp.

What motor size would be appropriate for second motor? I'm mostly using in the river.

Was thinking of using battery trolling motor with 50-70 lbs thrust. If petrol what would be minimum hp?

Thanks.

Re: Backup motor tips

Dakr i am likely going the same route, a couple of months ago i looked into the backup motor and found a 24volt electric motor would push my boat i found the Haswing brand had the cheapest motors without needing to spend 3-5k

What i found out from searching the internet for my 18.7ft boat i need the following

60lb of thrust would just get by
    70lb would be suitable
    80lb would be the best

But what i found those motors are likely 12volt

Once u go up to 100lb its 24volt from my understanding a electric motor will only go 10kph no matter its pound output capacity but as you go up in pounds of thrust once u reach the optimum level and start to go over your usable amps come down as thrust goes up

I wouldn't bother if you're only in the river, but if I had to, an electric would be my choice.

If you only want it as an emergency back up, maybe get an annual marine rescue subscription. saves all the weight and install hassles. Or you could then put the money towards a newer more reliable main motor, going by your previous post!

as purely an emergency motor....you dont need a lot of hp because youre not going to be able to push the boat onto the plane anyway...so your max speed becomes a function of the waterline length and you will get no extra benefit from increasing hp from say 8hp to 15hp..There are however a host of other issues to consider....reliability ..cost..maintenance ...steering...security. separate fuel supply .Will it actually work when you want it to?