Thread: Solar Panel trickle charging

Solar Panel trickle charging

Firstly let me say, I have no knowledge whatsoever of solar panels.

I was just talking the other day to my daughter’s partner about maintaining battery charge in the boat.

He tells me he knows nothing either then a couple of days later gives me one of these (see picture)

IMG_0135.jpg

My question from those that may know, will this maintain my boat battery charge level.

Shakey - If only I lived near the coast

Re: Solar Panel trickle charging

Shakey,
    My neighbor has one fitted to his car trailer, the idea being to keep his battery that powers his winch always charged, but unfortunately not doing the job for him. Unsure if it is because of the battery condition but he is disappointed with it and i think his is a 10W.....
    JN

Ausfish Platinum Member

Will a 3.5 watt panel charge anything? At max efficiency, it is probably delivering less than 300mA, ie, 0.3 amp. And that is during daylight hours, in full sunlight. If your boat is wired correctly, with no parasitic drain when everything is turned off, it "may" keep you up to 12.4 volts. It can't do any harm at that level of charging, anyway.
    It is a simple calculation. I=P / E , where I=current, P=power, and E=voltage. So, given your theoretical rating of 3.5 watts, at 12v, divde 3.5 by 12, gives you about 0.29 amps. The charge voltage is probably higher than 12v, would need to be at least 12.7 to get any charge. At 12.7v , it is 0.27 amp. So, a tiny charge indeed, more suited to a very small rechargeable battery. Minimum size I would use for that application would be 20w, and you would want a proper regulator , so the charge will cut down if you do get a really good run of sun and no battery drain.