Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I replace this fuel hose?

Should I replace this fuel hose?

Calling for expert advice again.Noticed surface crazing/cracking on the exterior fuel hose connected to filter today. Boat and motor will be five years old come August so motor fitout is still under warranty. Boat is stored under cover when not in use. Both bends have same appearance on the surface exposed to sunlight.
    Thanks in advance. SS
    20200516_140731.jpg

Sent from my LG-H815 using Ausfish mobile app

Re: Should I replace this fuel hose?

yes replace it

Thanks Steve. Makes common sense. I was not sure if this is a common problem with fuel lines exposed to the elements. I have limited power boating experience and was somewhat shocked to see this level of deterioration after 270 hours. Cheers SS.

Not too sure the dealer will be too thrilled about replacing something under warranty that is a result of exposure to weather.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    Not too sure the dealer will be too thrilled about replacing something under warranty that is a result of exposure to weather.
    No, I don't think I will have much sway with a warranty replacement. I was wondering whether there is a product that I could cover the replacement hose to protect from a repeat occurrence. Any ideas Noelm?

Hi seastrength

Perhaps replace the fuel hose and slip a length of suitably sized white hose over top to keep the UV at bay?
    You can always replace the cover hose as needed while keeping the fuel hose in good condition.
    eg https://www.roadtechmarine.com.au/sa...-38mm/p/TPE310

Cheers
    Chimo
    What could go wrong.......................

Quote Originally Posted by seastrength View Post
    No, I don't think I will have much sway with a warranty replacement. I was wondering whether there is a product that I could cover the replacement hose to protect from a repeat occurrence. Any ideas Noelm?