Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Sounder fundamentals for the guys who wanted it

Re: Sounder fundamentals for the guys who wanted it

Quote Originally Posted by Ronje1 View Post
    Geez, a "negative nancy" ego that wants to argue about every bloody thing. I can't see him any more now so he's disrupting you guys only.

Got some more for ya to think about.

thin skin.jpg

I need to add ten characters.

Scottar has been around these parts a long time and I value his opinions and experience. I don’t think he was trying to piss you off think he was adding to the discussion for all of us to consider.

hopefully you will both continue to provide your valuable insights

Ahhhhhh I see now. This is Ron aka “Douglas” from Rocky. (You AAers should know what I’m on about)

I’m off to get the popcorn

Quote Originally Posted by Funchy View Post
    Ahhhhhh I see now. This is Ron aka “Douglas” from Rocky. (You AAers should know what I’m on about)

I’m off to get the popcorn
    Fair dinkum !!!

Quote Originally Posted by Barry Ehsman View Post
    Fair dinkum !!!
    would I lie to you Baz 😂

Yep. I warned the members about him in another Post he put up. Scottar has confused the issue by stating facts. Some people can’t handle that. Particularly those who get all their so called expert articles by copying different stuff from all over the Internet. Not saying this bloke would do that. And some people get fish pictures and sounder pictures by copying them off the internet. Just saying.

I had a good read of the first stuff, for me, an interesting read, thankyou.

I hope it continues, but equally, u should unblock Scott ( i presumed that's what you mean by not being able to see him anymore), as discussion or debate, if done properly, is how we learn. You obviously have a great deal of knowledge on the fact, but I do have to point out, that in my opinion, Scott, who physically worked in this industry, or to that matter still does, offers excellent first hand knowledge, both technically and physically on the water, of which, I personally, and I'm sure many others on this site, respect both him and his opinions and advice we have all received over the years.

As I am someone that really is deficient in the "sounder fundamentals", It would be a shame to ruin, the potential benefits this topic could bring for a lot of people..

Just my view..

Col

great discussion from all perspectives , i for one am enjoying the read thankyou

Me three .

Well I valued the read thanks!!!

So,

If you had a budget of 20K (ish)
    And we’re building a new glass boat at 6.7m predominantly to chase Red Emperor and Rosies in the NW what would you install?

I thought I had it figured out but keep second guessing. I want to read bottom at 25knt +.
    Through hull, transom mount or otherwise still has me muffed.

I looked at a furuno package as follows; still await the final $$$. But this still lacks a second screen for navigation & sounder at once. And budget 25K+ (I think)

TZT3 - 12” display
    DI-FFAMP sonar module
    Nav Pilot 711C
    SCX-20 sat nav
    DST -800 - temp sensor (any other option if avail)
    82B 35R - 2kw transducer
    SS175HW - 1kw transducer
    1 x VHF radio
    1 x fusion stereo

Worried that the manufacturers specs have temp range up to 55°. I want to flush mount and think I would exceed that temp at times here 🤔

Thoughts ???

Cammo

I'm flattered by your post, but I recommend that you seek advice from a supplier who should be able to sort out a suitable package for you. That's their living and I don't want to intrude on that.

However, I recommend that you go to a retailer who specialises in sounder servicing and marine sales (not a tackle shop or supplier where they simply sell stuff or send faulty stuff away).

What am I setting out to achieve?

Cut through as much confusion as possible by avoiding technical and industry jargon and laying it out in simple easy to understand terms with a view to helping non-technical people sort some of it out.

I've put up some little anecdotes about history involving some of the terms to give some perspective on the different subjects and also to give real life instances of why/how something is what it is.

I've also used some PDF attachments in pretty plain language that can be downloaded and printed as a reference if somebody wants to check on something.

They're simply my version of "making it simple" and meant to complement any existing sources (maybe make them a bit easier to understand). Not replace them.

For that to be successful, some "literary licence" needs to be given by people who have a better understanding about the subject than most. To understand what's trying to be accomplished.

You might have noticed that I've done the easy to understand stuff on a couple of other subjects where confusion exists 'cos I've got the background experience and quals to do it.

Quote Originally Posted by Cammmo View Post
    Well I valued the read thanks!!!

So,

If you had a budget of 20K (ish)
    And we’re building a new glass boat at 6.7m predominantly to chase Red Emperor and Rosies in the NW what would you install?

I thought I had it figured out but keep second guessing. I want to read bottom at 25knt +.
    Through hull, transom mount or otherwise still has me muffed.

I looked at a furuno package as follows; still await the final $$$. But this still lacks a second screen for navigation & sounder at once. And budget 25K+ (I think)

TZT3 - 12” display
    DI-FFAMP sonar module
    Nav Pilot 711C
    SCX-20 sat nav
    DST -800 - temp sensor (any other option if avail)
    82B 35R - 2kw transducer
    SS175HW - 1kw transducer
    1 x VHF radio
    1 x fusion stereo

Worried that the manufacturers specs have temp range up to 55°. I want to flush mount and think I would exceed that temp at times here 樂

Thoughts ???

Sending you a PM to sort this out.

stand by

A little ready reckoner calculator to help better understand some of the fundamental terms like size of targets that you sounder is capable of seeing, the range resolution/separation of CHIRP and the range resolution of sounders without chirp. The last one is based on the length/width of the pulse in milliseconds (thousandths of a second).

Just put the detail that you have in the yellow squares and the answer appears in the pink/lavender squares.

Its protected against accidents so you can't hurt it.

.................................................. ......................

PS looks like excel isn't an acceptable file type.

My email a/d is ronje1@optusnet.com.au if you want a copy of it to use for yourself.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    Sending you a PM to sort this out.

stand by
    Hi Phill and other Ausfishers
    Would you mind making your recommendation public as I am considering a similar upgrade of my current sonar. I have an a128 Raymarine MFD package running Lighthouse software with separate transom mounted CP100 downvision and CP200 sidevision transducers, now 5 years old. It will only hold bottom to 40 klm/hr at depth to 30 metres. Good for Moreton Bay. Looking at best option for offshore Moreton and Straddie hunting snapper and pearlies. Cheers SS.

Sent from my LG-H815 using Ausfish mobile app

Well ……….that escalated quickly

Ronnie, if you are listening, jeebers bud, if a difference of opinion and a couple of corrections is all it takes for you to throw the toys out of the cot, do yourself a favour and never open the politics part of the forum or you will probably have a stroke.

I'm all for poetic license - where it has a place. I'm also passionate about a field that I have basically spent all of my adult life involved with. As you said - there is too much bullshit out there (poetic license taken) - let's not add to it. You are doing a pretty good job with the tech stuff - better than I probably would because I stopped worrying about all the "why it works" years ago and concentrated on the "does it work" and "is it better than the other one" - that's the reality of technical retail. We didn't want to sell gear that we then had to sort out at our cost so selling the product that was best for what the client wanted in the most reliable package available is paramount. Engineers and tradies have the same "clash" in pretty much every field where they are both involved. No argument that the numbers guys are clever and know why stuff works - but it's the bloke on the coal face that sees the difference between various products and that ultimately one works better than the others for a given set of circumstances - maybe without ever fully understanding why - because in reality to him, it doesn't matter. As for the PM - it's a forum mate. Everyone is here to learn - try a bit more technical stuff - I suspect quite a few of the lads here will surprise you with their understanding - and they will call you out if they think it's bullshit - at least they do with me. If you can't cope with that, you are going to struggle round these parts.

Your chirp chit chat - pretty spot on. I will add that besides the effective pulse shortening (for each frequency - not overall), the other reason it gives such a clear picture is that they process the bejesus out of the return. For some blokes - this is great. Not everyone understands raw echo sounder data from a traditional pulse sounder to the same extent. Ultimately though, with high processing, the downside is that some raw information is lost - thus for a lot of users, chirp has it's own inherent problems. The biggest one I have noticed (in the field I spend most time in - offshore), is that in comparison to a traditional sounder the bottom discrimination is pretty average. This really comes into play when looking for variations in flat country that can hold species like pearl perch. Chirp can also be noise prone - just like a pulse unit. The receiver is open to a much wider range of frequencies and as such things like propeller noise can be just as much (if not more) of an issue.