Thread: Trailer Electric Wire

Trailer Electric Wire

Anyone recommend a place to get tinned trailer wire
    Brisbane Northside - near Sttathpine?
    Thanks in advance
    Trailer 10yo Dunbier alloy with LED lights but wiring was not originally tinned and lights haven't been good for a couple of years now
    Yes I sink it to drive boat on

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Ausfish mobile app

Trev

Re: Trailer Electric Wire

G'day Trev. I get mine at Whitworths. Usually by the roll for smaller twin flex and by metre for larger sizes. From memory they only do tinned copper.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

QME Brendale

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish forums

Quote Originally Posted by RayLamp View Post
    Always thought Whitworths was cheaper for tinned cable but I have not compared for a while.

Quote Originally Posted by ozscott View Post
    Always thought Whitworths was cheaper for tinned cable but I have not compared for a while.

You might be right. Jaycar has this https://www.jaycar.com.au/5-core-tra...e-10m/p/WH3091 in a 10 metre roll, and whitworths has theirs by the metre https://www.whitworths.com.au/traile...inned?q=197202

If you're replacing your lights you are best buying the ones that come with 9m of cable attached, less hassle, and sealed connections. Probar at Lear Jet Drive Caboolture is usually well priced.

I just bought one of these:
    https://www.boatingandrv.com.au/led-...nd-connectors/

Quote Originally Posted by winston View Post
    That is really cheap for a big branded store to sell that kit for $60 usually the shitty ones start at $80-$90,

Sent from my SM-G900I using Ausfish mobile app

Actually I was going to ask about the lights and you beat me to it
    Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    If you're replacing your lights you are best buying the ones that come with 9m of cable attached, less hassle, and sealed connections. Probar at Lear Jet Drive Caboolture is usually well priced.

Trev

Is the wire tinned?
    Seems cheap
    Anyone know anything about led quality durability as I don't
    Quote Originally Posted by winston View Post

Trev

My short homework says this is about the best but still no mention of tinned wire
    https://www.narva.com.au/blogs/press...iler-lamp-kits

I know when I complained to Dunbier about my wiring not being tinned - feedback I got was they changed to tinned wires

Trev

Last trip to ramp with dodgy trailer lights I had my $200 Led lenser headlamp in red rag in burley bucket
    Brake lights always good - clearance light not bright - indicators mostly worked
    Anyway mate took off rear chains so I didn't check back of boat prior to launch
    After all day in the drink the circuit board in battery pack was cactus
    So it's time to fix the trailer lights properly

Trev

Trev I had a couple of Narva's first crack at boat trailer LED sets that had sealed looms from the light (About 10m of wire per light from memory) and I ran them to a sealed junction box on the draw Bar and from there a single 7 wire loom to the vehicle. A mate has a similar set up. His like mine dropped some LED's over time. The wires were tinned. These new range look completely different and I would give them a go. Arguably there is no need to have tinned wire where the lights are IP68 - unless at the 7 pin plug you are concerned about wicking if the boat trailer spends a fair bit of time sitting in salt air. I would give Narva a ring and ask them. I suspect they at least tin the ends where the plug is. If they are not tinned I would soak the wire in Corrosion X at the plug end and use them anyway. Cheers

Tinned is better Trev but it wouldn't be a deal breaker for me.
    Any light problems you have will be caused by the connections rather than the wires not being tinned.