Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Motor Height

Motor Height

Very quick question for the experts/experienced

I’m holding a straightedge along the keel of my boat and through to the motor.

If this was your boat motor would you lower the motor.

Finding it hard to get up on plane and trimming is very touch at best.

I ask now as boat being serviced at the moment and mechanic who I think I trust says maybe should come down one hole.

Your thoughts please

IMG_2946.JPG

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish mobile app

Re: Motor Height

Mate I'm far from an expert and I know that people say line it up with the keel height but I'm convinced that trial and error is the best way...

Just get the boat up on the plane and trim it properly with a regular load on and then have someone steer the boat for you and take a good look over the transom and see if you can see your cav plate on the motor...should be more or less close to the surface …if not go up or down and try again.....

If its close to the surface and you are still having noticeable problems ..then it could be the prop or motor issues or even something like water in the hull or too much weight in the ass.. ...

i would drop it a hole, then try it. maybe even a second hole, just make sure you don't lose sight of the cav plate. I had the same trimming issue, and dropping it 1 hole gave the prop much more grip. you can always go up again!

I donno Shakey a outboard is generally not slapped on a boat at the height of yours so it makes me think the last owner might have already tested it one hole lower and bumped it up to where it is

But who knows, last owners needs could have been different to yours from what knowledge i have gained is to raise a engine is for better performance and better top speed where as u may wish for a better take off and less hang on to your hat kind of thing

Sent from my SM-G900I using Ausfish mobile app