Thread: Issues with Andersson Plugs (Minn Kota)

Re: Issues with Andersson Plugs (Minn Kota)

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    There is a breaker in place ……..

OK generally speaking I don't disconnect the plugs (perhaps I should)

This has occurred on trips away where the boat has stayed in the water for a few days ….. by day 3 or 4 I can see that there is an issue .

I wouldn't have thought there would have been an issue & so quickly

Hi Chris. I don't disconnect my Andersen. I only took it apart to have a look. I just trip the breaker manually each time I am finished with the motor.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Quote Originally Posted by ozscott View Post
    Hi Chris. I don't disconnect my Andersen. I only took it apart to have a look. I just trip the breaker manually each time I am finished with the motor.

That's what I do now …… I'll see if it makes a difference over the next few months

No worries mate. Let us know how you get on.

I know Corrosion X is a lot dearer than Inox etc but in my opinion it's excellent and worth the dough.

what are the terminals made off , is there a hint of copper in their, doesnt copper go green when exposed to water, you never know.

Terminals are quite soft so I reckon they are copper in it. Not sure though.

pretty sure that the Andersson terminals contain copper

Anderson plug lugs are tinned copper, like all good electrical lugs. They do not like exposure to salt water and moisture, like all good electrical lugs which are not sealed against ingress against salt. If you leave them plugged in and unprotected on a boat, they will not last.
    I have several on my boat, fitted for different applications. Fridge, solar, and electric capstan, removable when not needed. My approach to them is this-
    1) seal the rear cable entry. Do this by injecting sika or silcon in to seal it completely.
    2) use dielectric grease on the connections-when they are plugged together, there is no way to stop water entering the gap between them, and the grease definitely helps
    3) Unplug them when not in use and use those black rubber caps you can get with them. These, in conjunction with the grease, and the rear sealing, will keep them good when not in use. And try to have the connections away from direct water contact. I wouldn't be using them exposed , more up under gunwhales and in dry areas.

Or you can get a specialised sealed IP rated plug which should stop water ingress , allowing you to leave them plugged in. But I'll bet that dielectric grease will still be needed.

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Very interesting TMC

Are they available locally ?

I bought mine from the states but sold the boat before fitting it. I also had problems with corrosion with the Anderson plugs this is why I purchased this set up.
    The new boat doesn't have a quick release mount so i have hard wired it.

TMC

Ive had loads of problems with Andersen plugs rusting, Im so sick of replacing them. Yes the minn kota is up the front of the boat and the connections are exposed to the salt spray, and the boat gets used a lot. Im all for hard wiring the MK straight thru to the battery. The MK never comes off the boat unless its getting sent away for repairs, so why have a plug setup at all?
    Fishing- It's only an addiction if you're trying to quit.

Quote Originally Posted by the gecko View Post
    Ive had loads of problems with Andersen plugs rusting, Im so sick of replacing them. Yes the minn kota is up the front of the boat and the connections are exposed to the salt spray, and the boat gets used a lot. Im all for hard wiring the MK straight thru to the battery. The MK never comes off the boat unless its getting sent away for repairs, so why have a plug setup at all?
    Good point. Have your connection inside the cabin, away from direct saltwater spray. I certainly wouldn't use Anderson plugs out on the foredeck--good if you can keep direct salt washing off them, and treat them as previously detailed, but not for getting soaked.

Corrosion X. Plug smashed with salt spray and salt water. Nil issues. I sprayed over a year ago and again the other day. If it works stick with it.

Quote Originally Posted by the gecko View Post
    As my Minn kota is moved from 1 boat to the other - that's not an option but I agree that it would be best .
    The other thing is that the Minn Kota leads are pretty short ……. but maybe next time I get the leccy serviced - I'll have the guy replace the lead with a longer one & see if I can keep the plugs out of the spray .