Thread: Spotties

Spotties

Did a solo misión this morning to the 4 beacons. I rigged up some lures last night for trolling and one rod with a metal slug for a day of chasing pelagics. Funny thing is I've never done that before as I've always targeting reef fish.

Ended up only getting 3 spotties one was a tag small so it went back.

The beacons themselves had nothing on them and I trolled around for most of the morning for nothing.

Finally came across some birds working and some surface splashing. With 3 hook ups and 2 keepers I lost the school and couldn't find the again.
    They were caught on Halco Twister 55g.

Was great to get out and catch what I targeted for the morning.

Has anyone got any recommendations for cooking. I filleted them and plan to make a curry with one and shallow fry some as well. All to be eaten fresh I believe?

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4221.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	37.0 KB 
ID:	118538Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4224.jpg 
Size:	44.9 KB 
ID:	118539

Re: Spotties

I vac pack and freeze mine. Seem to keep, they make great fish cake or I just cook them in a bit of butter and olive oil in a fry pan

Sent from my [device_name] using Ausfish mobile app
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

My missus just turns them into fish bites a bit of crumbs and cooks in the deep fryer. I also think that they are school Mackerel not spotties.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yep, these are school Mack’s also known as doggies.

Quote Originally Posted by trilogy View Post
    Yep, these are school Mack’s also known as doggies.
    I thought it was Shark Mackerel that were referred to as Doggies?

You win haha.

Thanks Trilogy, wish I new that out there i could have kept the other one.
    Here another pic. I can just make out the second dorsal fin I think. Definitely school Mac?

Name:	School Mackerel.jpg 
Size:	48.5 KB 
ID:	118552