Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mercruiser to Chevy 350

Mercruiser to Chevy 350

I've been lurking and reading for a while now but wanted to run what I *think* I have learnt past the experts before I sink any cash - just to make sure I haven't missed any big expenses etc.

I own a Bayliner (2002 2455) which needs a new engine. Two mechanics have quoted me different figures, one around $25k for a rebuild of my existing Mercruiser 5.0 and one for around $30k for a new engine (no leg). Everything on the engine is fine (alternator, fuel pump etc).

The mechanic who inspected it (and suggest a rebuild) won't provide me with a parts list or diagnostics (even though I paid over $1,000 for the diagnostics alone)... Two cylinders have nil compression. The mechanic who quoted a new engine did not inspect it. I've not got a huge deal of confident

Whilst I'd pay those prices to get it running again they seemed high to me. I've very little mechanical experience but my brother is an automotive mechanic so he'll be assisting me with the project. My Dad has been on boats his entire life and did his own engine maintenance so he is a second backup.

I need to get on my boat to get the serial to ensure it is a direct swap but I believe this should be (for now just assume it is unless you know for certain it isn't):
    https://bit.ly/2VAW7n2

I like this because all of the "marine" work has been done for me already. I'm slightly concerned about the Carb as I'm young and have never used anything with a Carb before but I figure if I find it that annoying I can get a TBI kit for ~$1,500 USD and convert it.

The exhaust manifold and risers need replacing, not really sure what kit suits yet but I figure if I budget around $2,000 I shan't be in for a nasty surprise re cost.