Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Boat Trailer Servicing

Boat Trailer Servicing

Hey guys,

I've just given a huge overhaul of my 13yo Redco trailer for my Quintrex Freedom Sport 530. Right down to replacing every rusted bolt, new spindles, rollers, skids, new wiring, grinding off and rust converting/prime and paint anything unsightly. Nothing structural thankfully. But most importantly is I've fully serviced the bearings, new slipper springs and put on new tyres etc, thats the stuff that really matters. However this is my first time doing such a job, and I'd like a set of eyes to just make sure I did it all right. Anyone have any suggestions of preferably a boat trailer servicing guy/company that comes to your home, or at least on the northside. I'm just nervous to take the trailer on the road if I've missed something or not done something right. I know it might sound trivial to the familiar, and I'll give anything a fair go, but don't want sh*t going sideways on the road with a trailer.

Cheers.

Re: Boat Trailer Servicing

Mate it sounds like you've given it a good go over.
    I'm sure someone up your way will refer you to somewhere or a mobile marine service option, but I'd sit back with a coldie and take your own time and think about everything you've done.
    If it's not too late check the wiring on the lights.
    Take it for a spin around the block, then jack it up and check the bearing play.
    Check you have done the inner bearing seals to your satisfaction and installed your bearing buddies or dust caps so they don't fall off.
    Did you have you're boat off the trailer for the work you did ?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Fillet`n`Release View Post
    Hey guys,