Thread: NMEA 2000 backbone compatibility

NMEA 2000 backbone compatibility

I’m new to this marine networking thing so this question might be way out there, but I’ve never had it explained to me - I only know what I think I do from online,,,, not that that means much.
    I understand that NMEA is a “standard” but I want to make sure, so I ask the obvious before I buy something that won’t fit.

Q - will a “lowrance” nmea starter kit work in my simrad nss evo 2 and mercury vessel view system ? I want to link them up. Currently they are both stand alone and I’m hoping to get a better/easier engine user Interface using the MFD as opposed the 4 button option of the VV.

On a side note I’d also like to make it easier to review the fuel tank level - I’ve never got the VV fuel tank reading to display the “remaining” fuel. I’ve programmed in the “fuel tank” and set the “tank volume” but it stays at 150 litres,
    The fuel usage(L/hr) workS fine on VV.

My understanding is that the nmea is meant to be a standard that each manufacturer uses, so it would make sense to me I could buy a lowrance kit or a garmin kit and all the plugs should fit. My only “unknown” is if the power lead pin configuration could be different for the different kits to suit each manufacturer?
    Or is there something else to it ?

Thanks

Saltwater fishing, boat mad but has a job that gets in the way.

Re: NMEA 2000 backbone compatibility

yep so NMEA is the governing body of marine electronics "in a way" and their 2000 protocol which is roughly based of the CANBUS protocol used in cars and a bajillion other industries, the major difference being the physical style connections etc.
    So yep NMEA2K from brand A will more of then than not work with brand B "exceptions of cause"
    though in some cases they make it annoying such as Garmin making their T connectors a different rotation to every other brand so when you join Garmin to Lowrance t connectors they do not line up.. Grrrr.