Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Downriggers - WTB

Downriggers - WTB

Hi All

I'm considering putting a down rigger on my boat (5m Seajay barramasta) to use for slow trolling live baits or positioning live baits in a burly trail .
    I've had basic experience with them over the years & do see the advantage of having one..... but never bit the bullet.

I know a basic lake troller would probably suffice but since I do fish on my own regularly maybe an electric one would be best . Now looking at these things you could be spending a few hundred up to 3 grand

So what are the things to look for - the good the bad & ugly ..... makes , models etc

any help is appreciated

Chris
    Give a man a fish & he will eat for a day !
    Teach him how to fish
    & he will sit in a boat - & drink beer all day!
    TEAM MOJIKO

Ausfish Platinum Member

Re: Downriggers - WTB

Alvey used to do the best one--far more rugged and less expensive than all these fancy yank ones. See if you can pick one up s/hand, or stock left in a shop gathering dust. Alvey stopped making them before they shut down. I can drag a 10lb ball down down 20 metres easily on mine. And, after replacing the number counter on it, then replaced the wire with cheap 200lb braid, depth marked, so I don't need the counter any more, anyway. Mine is clamped onto a piece of s/s tube that drops into a rod holder, works a treat.

If you can spare the coin go electric. I've got one of each - both Cannons. The ability to simply push a button and a few seconds later have the wire out of the way is a big plus.

Quote Originally Posted by scottar View Post
    If you can spare the coin go electric. I've got one of each - both Cannons. The ability to simply push a button and a few seconds later have the wire out of the way is a big plus.
    At this early stage I'm thinking electric ..... specially useful if fishing on my own
    The Cannon auto rewind looks like a nifty feature ....... get a hookup & up she comes