Thread: Whitsundays Passage Advice

Whitsundays Passage Advice

Hey guys,

The partner and I are off on my dream trip of camping on Hook Island in the Whitsundays. We've been hoping for good weather and it doesn't look too bad. My concern is crossing the Molle and Whitsunday Passage channels. I have a 5.5m center console, with pretty high sides (although it is quite open). The forecast for the day we're heading over at the moment is 16kts NW with around 1m of swell. I have done some research and when we make the trip the tide will be coming in preventing the sloppy wind vs tide scenario, I am just after some local knowledge. My question is, at what point should we postpone the trip across? Is 16kts across there nasty? Or is it similar to moreton bay? I am an experienced driver, I just don't want to ruin all my camping gear either as my boat gets quite wet and I here the Passage gets sloppy.

Thanks in advance.

Whitsundays Passage Advice

There are a lot more pressure points and much larger current through the passage compared to
    Moreton bay. So can get a bit nasty.

I recently went over in 25kn wind in my 2300 noosacat. Wasn't unsafe but it was rather hairy. I think a 5mcc would have copped plenty of waves over the front, be shitting your pants and you'd probably be divorced (quite unsafe in a 5.5cc I would say)

If it does blow up a bit when your over there. Wait for the tide and wind to run same direction and it usually calms down a smidge for you to get back.

You'd def have an ordinary trip in a 20knots wind.

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish forums

Re: Whitsundays Passage Advice