Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Electric Trailer Winch

Electric Trailer Winch

Still looking at a Trailer winch that I can use to pull the boat onto the trailer on my own. Like the Powerwinch PWRC 230 at around $1070 Plus another $54 for the easyfit plate, but would have problems in justifying the price to my partner. Ditto the loading speed at around 14ft/min, great.

However seriously looking at the 4WD type winch as per below at around $110, and will make up an easy fit plate arrangement so the winch will not be left on the trailer when its in the carpark, also thinking of fitting a battery holder on the front on the trailer, so prior to driving the trailer back to the boat ramp, I attach the winch and install a battery in the battery holder. Our Half Cabin Boat is be around 500Kg so this winch would pull out at around 2m+ a minute. Maybe will need the hand winch as back up until I have some experience.

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/12V-Wire....c100677.m4598

Comments appreciated.

Peter

Re: Electric Trailer Winch

I think your boat will be a bit over 500kg. Spend another 40 bucks and get a 4000 lb winch with dyneema cable.
    Dont worry about making it removable you can replace the supplied securing bolts with theft proof bolts or just drill a couple of extra holes and hit the nuts with a spot of weld.
    Why not run 12 v from your car battery to the rear of your tow vehicle and connect via anderson plug or alternatively just carry a small 12v battery in your car and use anderson plugs to connect.
    Cheers
    Ray

Ray, Thanks for your comments.
    Since this winch does not have the hand winch backup, I would like to be able to remove it and replace with the hand winch if necessary, so spot weld is a no go.
    Re the 4000kg winch, I think the bigger winches are geared down lower so the pull up speed would be lower eg would prefer a 2000Kg winch with a faster pull up speed.