Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Brisbane boat show

Re: Brisbane boat show

All shows seem to be the same. The last tinnie and tackle was very poor as well. More 4 wd stuff there than fishing. The only fishing stuff seems to be the shit from down south retailers. Names of lines, lures reels etc that i have never heard off

dropped in Friday arvo after work to kill some time. That 7m Haines is massive, would prefer the Cruise Craft 685. Signature still haven't changed and not much else there worth looking at. No Garmin marine stand just in a few locations with retailers which wasn't what I was expecting. Furuno for the size of that company must have the smallest stand possible in the event. Seadek nice product but $2500k kit only for my 625. Really.... Also wonder if and when this hardtop revolution will end as everyone's doing it now.
    Stopped in at one of the jet ski stands where the dude was bagging out fishing boats saying how hard it is to own one and find crew bla bla bla what a tosser. Two nice birds at the Yamaha stand, stopped in for some directions lol. Otherwise pretty disappointed but mostly cause I was expecting to check out the Garmin stand that they had in Sydney and it's all over their Facebook but didn't bother bringing it here.

Quote Originally Posted by Moejoes View Post
    We went last night.
    $5 to get in nice and quiet, easy to get round and chat.
    Bought a deep drop reel.
    Closed at 8pm but didn't get home til 2:30am.
    Don't know what happened there
    Which one.

Quote Originally Posted by Moejoes View Post
    Tell me about it......... I went out off Mooloolaba sea trialling a 3000 Noosacat with twin 200hp Yamis in 25 knots today.
    I was very impressed
    Rob,do you have a doppelganger posting in your name, apparently impressed with
    a. Noosacat
    b. Yammies

I recall someone that night saying Trade secret.....my lips are sealed

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    Which one.

I think Soulfish has hacked my password........

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    Rob,do you have a doppelganger posting in your name, apparently impressed with
    a. Noosacat
    b. Yammies

The hull of my next boat is gonna be one big fuel tank Tony

Quote Originally Posted by Back In Black View Post
    Take enough fuel............

I went this afternoon after 5 on Saturday. Found a couple of stands with helpful friendly salespeople kmowledgeable and willing to put in a bit of time and give quotes etc. However on many stands the sales people were all sitting down and socialising with each other and ignoring the public. I stood around for a while looking at products motors boats but no one helped me. Northside marine had all their Whittleys on display quality boats but very expensive new. I was quite impressed with the Baysport boats value for money Peter and Justin from Brisbane Yamaha Burpengary were the best, I've had good service from this company before as well when I bought a 15hp 2 stroke Yamaha from them. Nothing was too much trouble and the handover was excellent. I wanted to buy some basic fishing hooks and sinkers but couldn't find any! It's ridiculous having it at southbank too poncy and expensive fisher people don't want all that glamor and expense to park.

Was there today as well. One thing the new Haines underfloor esky is ridiculous! But a massive feature that eliminates the need for extra Eskies!!!

On that note I thought it wasn't too bad had a few boats too look at which was good as normal in your head you are calculating whether or not selling the toys would let you upgrade to a
    Bigger boat, the sailfish boats keep popping out to me each yeah which may end up being a reality.

The boys at Brisbane marine werendoing a great deal on a pair of 115 mercs but just not quite ready was very close though!

All in all we still spent about 5 hours
    There going through all the larger boats as we generally do each year. Just can't justify the 200k price tags of these boats yet....

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish forums
    560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"

Quote Originally Posted by Skusto View Post
    Was there today as well. One thing the new Haines underfloor esky is ridiculous! But a massive feature that eliminates the need for extra eskies
    Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish forums
    Did you ask if it was insulated? Can' t imagine HH would have the forsight...

I went early morning yesterday for 4-5 hours. Take the train and save parking costs. Not in the market for a new boat, but always interested to see any new ideas. Most of the vendors were helpful and willing to talk about their product until I mentioned I was not a buyer. I think the master fishing seminars were great value. Laurie Macanally's talk on mackeral fishing alone was worth the $15 entry fee. But then I am novice when it comes to fishing and always looking to improve my catch rate.

Quote Originally Posted by Seahorse View Post
    Well another poor boat show gone.
    No bargins, $46 parking fee,

Parking fees these days are pure extortion!

Havent been to the boat show for a few years, feel somewhat sorry for the $ the smaller companies have to put in to go, Cant blame them for pulling the pin.

Cool Re: Brisbane boat show

I am surprised that the boating industry just doesnt get together and hire a footy field. Minimise outlays for everyone, including entrance fees and parking. Make it a real social event.Cheap food and refreshments. Flea markets usually charge $100 a spot and everyone makes money. This convention center "scam" is well and truly done and dusted in 2017. For the convenience of an enclosed environment, we the consumers are slugged, the exhibitors are slugged and nobody is happy with the massive rip. Melbourne exhibitions are no better. $45 parking and $20 entrance fee means $65 per person attending. What do they think it is, a beatles reunion? lol. I would rather the $15-$45 grand ( doesnt include costs involved in getting to the exhibitions and stands etc etc ) be plowed back into lower boat prices than an exhibition center profit . Cause they have eaten the hand that feeds.. its the age where the facilitator is king, not the product,

some figures we can deduce but aren't actually available.
    77 exhibitors at say minimum $15g =$1,550,000
    12300 attendies average $15 entrance fee = $184,000
    12300 attendies parking have a guess $20 = $24,000
    12300 attendies food/drinks a guess $20 = $24,000
    food stall holders fees, probably $15000x20 = $30,000 These are all base figures and I am sure that there is a lot more actually being paid.

The convention center is grossing around $2,000,000 for three days exhibition. Of coarse they have costs, I dont deny this. But they claim 40% increase in attendance, must be making better than 20% in my guesstimate. Melbourne's figures are even more frightening.

Thats assuming the retailers only attend one show !! Melbourne would be even more expensive with greater attendances too. It could cost the big boys $100-300,000 in boatshow costs. That could be a wacking $6,000 per boat we pay in marketing fees.

what this says to me is that the convention center "industry" is taking the cream. I know you can justify anything, but it just shows how we walk around oblivious to what is done to us, hahaha. Sometimes its better to just not think about it.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy56 View Post
    I am surprised that the boating industry just doesnt get together and hire a footy field. Minimise outlays for everyone, including entrance fees and parking. Make it a real social event.Cheap food and refreshments. Flea markets usually charge $100 a spot and everyone makes money. This convention center "scam" is well and truly done and dusted in 2017. For the convenience of an enclosed environment, we the consumers are slugged, the exhibitors are slugged and nobody is happy with the massive rip. Melbourne exhibitions are no better. $45 parking and $20 entrance fee means $65 per person attending. What do they think it is, a beatles reunion? lol. I would rather the $15-$45 grand ( doesnt include costs involved in getting to the exhibitions and stands etc etc ) be plowed back into lower boat prices than an exhibition center profit . Cause they have eaten the hand that feeds.. its the age where the facilitator is king, not the product,

some figures we can deduce but aren't actually available.
    77 exhibitors at say minimum $15g =$1,550,000
    12300 attendies average $15 entrance fee = $184,000
    12300 attendies parking have a guess $20 = $24,000
    12300 attendies food/drinks a guess $20 = $24,000
    food stall holders fees, probably $15000x20 = $30,000 These are all base figures and I am sure that there is a lot more actually being paid.

The convention center is grossing around $2,000,000 for three days exhibition. Of coarse they have costs, I dont deny this. But they claim 40% increase in attendance, must be making better than 20% in my guesstimate. Melbourne's figures are even more frightening.

Thats assuming the retailers only attend one show !! Melbourne would be even more expensive with greater attendances too. It could cost the big boys $100-300,000 in boatshow costs. That could be a wacking $6,000 per boat we pay in marketing fees.

what this says to me is that the convention center "industry" is taking the cream. I know you can justify anything, but it just shows how we walk around oblivious to what is done to us, hahaha. Sometimes its better to just not think about it.
    Not all the money goes to the convention centre. The various BIA's around the country look upon boat shows as their annual fund raisers as well for what they are worth - they do sweet FA for their money in my book apart from self promotion and the provision of a nice little certificate for their members to make them feel warm and fuzzy.

Quote Originally Posted by scottar View Post
    Not all the money goes to the convention centre. The various BIA's around the country look upon boat shows as their annual fund raisers as well for what they are worth - they do sweet FA for their money in my book apart from self promotion and the provision of a nice little certificate for their members to make them feel warm and fuzzy.
    Seems very true, Scottar.
    One of the BIA staff explained that to me a few years back.
    A bunch of us expected the convention centre boat show would have folded by now due to lack of exhibitors.
    On a much more positive note, the show earlier this year at Gold Coast City Marina was a zillion times better. Parked the car 250m from front gate, no parking fees, way more exhibitors, much more variety and it was a show about boats & the industry rather than just a weekend sale.
    Cheers, SP