Thread: Offshore Gold Coast Saturday

Offshore Gold Coast Saturday

Hey all,

Well with a great forecast on the weekend we decided to do a trip off the Gold Coast - only the second one this year due to a lack of time and run of average weather.

Headed out from the boat ramp just on first light for an easy crossing of the Seaway near the top of the tide and found pretty good conditions with the wind from the WNW and a small swell. Headed to the bait ground and collected a few baits that lost some jigs to Tailor which were plentiful and we got 3 nice just legals for live baits later in the day.

With the bait tank full we then headed out to the 18s which was a bit of a car park with not much happening on the sounder. We then headed to the 24s and saw a bit of activity so baits were deployed and a live Tailor also put down for the hope of a Cobia.All was pretty quiet though so we made the decision to head out further to the SE 36s. By this time the wind had swung a little more to the west so getting out was fine but once out there, we had an awkward drift even with the sea anchor out of about 3 kph so it was a slow start.

As the current died so did the wind and we finally go decent drifts over patches of good fish and soon had the first couple of Snapper onboard, both in the mid 40s. Two more fish came on and things then went a little quiet so we hunted around again and found some more fish a little further north on some nice reefy bottom. By this stage, the current was falling away so we could deploy baits on lighter weights and that proved to be a winner.

The biggest fish of the day at 64cm hit a floated bait midwater and after a great tussle he was in the esky, closely followed by a couple more smaller fish in their 40s, The tide change was a bit quiet with only a couple of small guys caught and released and while we were talking about going to the 50s to look for some Peral Perch, three lines basically went off at once for a triple hookup of three more fish - we decided to stay after that for a while longer :-)

Last fish of the day fell about 30 minutes later to a live Yakka and came in at a respectable 56 cms and after that, we decided to head back in with more that enough fish for the three of us. It was probably one of the best trips in I have every had with a completely calm sea and absolutely flat entrance to the seaway,

In total we caught 11 fish between 43 and 64cms and used a combination of paternosters (4/0 and 5/0 hooks and 8oz sinkers) and float lines (4/0 Double Gangs for baits and 5/0 bait circles for livies). Bait was a mixture of fresh squid, pilchards and strip baits off the tailor was caught.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GC SR.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	65.6 KB 
ID:	115901

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GC Snap 1.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	64.4 KB 
ID:	115902

Re: Offshore Gold Coast Saturday

Nice bag of fish there mate . Prime time for bottom fishing now . Top pic looks average but conditions great in the second .

Cheers Chris

Great fish mate.
    Thanks for the info on rigs and baits. Extremely helpful.

Thanks for sharing rigs and baits! That's great

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish forums