Thread: Should I change my Signautre 580BR to Signature 575RF???

Should I change my Signautre 580BR to Signature 575RF???

Hi All,

I'm in quite the predicament...

I have a 2011 Signature 580BR with a Merc 175 Prox XS and i really love this boat. Its only got 150hrs on it.

We ski as a family but majority of the work i do is offshore Mooloolaba on the Sunshine Coast and in Moreton Bay.

The hull performs really well offshore (as far as I'm concerned) but i havn't spent a lot of time in many other boats. The main concern i have with my boat is the Hull height and free-board clearance off the water (not that this has ever caused me issue offshore, but i do pick my days) and the lack of fishing goodies - like rod stowage in particularly. I love fishing Caloundra Wide and the Banks, but i think id be more confident in a boat more geared to offshore bluewater work. The interesting things is, though. that the 580BR hull really does perform offshore. So maybe i just need to push my comfort zones a bit more.

As an all-rounder, the boat is hard to fault - and i especially love being able to walk through the helm console to pitch slugs at tuna, etc.

I'd love to hear anyone's thoughts on a good replacement as I'm seriously thinking about a 575RF, 600RF or even perhaps a 600BR. Perhaps many of you, like my peers, will tell me to pull my head in and keep what I've got, and run some aftermarket stainless gear to make it more fishable (i already have a bait board and some rod holders).

Another option I'm seriously looking at are the Offshore Marine Master 610 or 620WA. I have looked at pretty much all other options - eg HH585R, but Im pretty settled with the Signature Hulls, and bow access (walk-through, walk-around, bow rider) is a must for me.

If you have ridden in the 575RF, 600RF, 600BR, 602F and/or the 580BR or have views, i would really love to hear from you.

Thanks very much in advance!

Damon.

Re: Should I change my Signautre 580BR to Signature 575RF???

I'd go any of the Signatures or HHs you mentioned in a runabout or cuddy configuration. Go maximum horsepower and you can still ski. Maybe just have a second prop for the ski days down a pitch or something.

Quote Originally Posted by Smithy View Post
    I'd go any of the Signatures or HHs you mentioned in a runabout or cuddy configuration. Go maximum horsepower and you can still ski. Maybe just have a second prop for the ski days down a pitch or something.

Thanks Smithy - appreciate your thoughts mate.

No go for the big tinny in camparison?

Hi Damon,

I think you've answered your question in your first statement 'and i really love this boat'

As a rule I personally prefer specialist over compromise (eg a serious 4wd which lacks comfort over an all rounder - a serious fish boat over ski/ fish boat). I like to know that it is very good at the purpose it was intended for over the okay at a few things. But in your case your boat really does tick both boxes quite well. Sounds like you get a lot of joy out of family activities etc with your boat and still are more than able to use it for your own thing (fishing). I havent been in 580BR but have been in boats with low freeboard and havent felt too concerned in open water. In reality Im sure you pick your days and forecasting etc is very good these days. It should be more than capable to get you back if a sudden blow happens.

So I would get a few more after market mods on it, not hard to do and keep. Make the most of skiing with your family as that time doesnt last forever (goes too quickly!!!!) Before you know it you will be doing much less skiing work then you can go out a get an offshore specialist.

If you do change Id stick with glass if you intend to ski at all (or prefer a better ride in open water). In the future when you change boats try and have a few trips in a few different boats (eg tin and glass) and see what suits your needs better.

Gday Vromme,

Thanks mate - very wise.

The freeboard generally is more than adequate i find - just clearance at the bow 'sprit' in a sea, though in saying that, the hull design in following sea never ceases to amaze me in how capable it is, and ive never had a green one go over the nose under power when at sea, except when idling around chasing tuna on the very rare occasion, but nothing to worry about there other than wet carpet to dry out (no biggie).

My conversations with people who have ridden both reckon that the ride between the 580BR and 575RF is indistinguishable - just the RF is more suited so a fishing machine.

With the rear lounge out of my rig - i have a big dance floor which is really functional.

Really appreciate your thougths, and id welcome many more.

Kindly,

Damon.