Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Trailer Guide Adjustments

Re: Trailer Guide Adjustments

Jamie

What model no. Dunbier is the one you have?
    Just now looking at the Dunbier site hence the question.

What could go wrong.......................

Quote Originally Posted by Chimo View Post
    Jamie

What model no. Dunbier is the one you have?
    Just now looking at the Dunbier site hence the question.

G'day Chimo it's a SRW5.7T

Sent using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    Is it my imagination or are those cross members 50 mm and bending, I'm sure they should be 70mm for a boat that size. Just had a closer look and now I'm not sure, is that roller assembly on the axle.
    You know Dignify you're right, just having a good look now.
    There is a slight bend, and the roller bolt is the cause I think.
    The bend is right where the roller assembly bolt is sitting on a he top axle surface !

Sent using Tapatalk

Trailer Guide Adjustments

I had the jockey wheel adjusted all the way down, the roller support bolt contacts the axle.
    I've lifted the jockey wheel up and now the bolt has clearance - just, about 3mm.
    The boat is secure on the trailer with the boat latch wound tight on the winch.
    The flex in the axle and leaf springs I guess depends on the tow point height.
    But I think the support bolts are too close to the axle ?

Sent using Tapatalk

Jamie

Can you find your trailer on the Dunbier website?
    Maybe a man's look but I cannot.

Trailer Guide Adjustments

Jamie

Can you find your trailer on the Dunbier website?
    Maybe a man's look but I cannot.

The closest I can find on their website is in the supa rolla series SR5.7-13TB.

http://www.dunbier.com/trailers/trai...s/sr5-7m-13tb/

Mine could be a slightly different variant of this because of the boat width but it would be for intents and purposes the same I think.
    The width between the guards on mine is approximately 1820mm.

It should be ok as far as weight rating goes.
    My calcs are for as listed trailer gross max of 2000kg:
    Motor - 211kg
    Trailer- 440kg
    Hull - 820 kg
    Fuel - 150 kg max
    Tools and Tackle - 40 kg
    T-Top -30 kg
    Total = 1691kg fully loaded

Sent using Tapatalk

That really is cheap to use the axle the way they have instead of carrying the rollers on a dedicated member.

Very sad!

That really is cheap to use the axle the way they have instead of carrying the rollers on a dedicated member.

Very sad!

Chimo the rollers are on a dedicated member. Here's another photo

Sent using Tapatalk

Well thats good

Very quick repair, nice to see.!

What would be interesting given the axle cradle placement would be to stick it on a ball weight scale. Can't say I have ever seen a dual axle set up with the axle being the rearmost "cross member". Sort of stops the rear cradle doing what it is supposed to do - not to mention the keel guard.

Quote Originally Posted by 552Evo View Post
    Chimo the rollers are on a dedicated member. Here's another photo

Sent using Tapatalk
    You definitely need to keep that assembly off the axle, when hitched how close is that bolt assembly to the axle.

Quote Originally Posted by scottar View Post
    What would be interesting given the axle cradle placement would be to stick it on a ball weight scale. Can't say I have ever seen a dual axle set up with the axle being the rearmost "cross member". Sort of stops the rear cradle doing what it is supposed to do - not to mention the keel guard.
    Scottar, I think the image may be a bit deceiving, there are more cross braces toward the stern if that's what I understand your concern ?
    The image was taken between the dual axles left of the image being toward the bow.
    Below is the same sort of trailer with the angle of image taken

Sent using Tapatalk

LOL. All good. I'll shut up now.

Scottar 🤣 no worries mate.

Sent using Tapatalk

Ausfish Platinum Member bigjimg's Avatar

Evo
    I have the same trailer and the axle is nowhere near that location.
    Every time the axle articulates and moves up while travelling it is going to contact that bolt, the stresses being applied to the axle would be great. Point load.
    Definitely not an ideal situation in my opinion.
    Haines Signature "FinaLeigh" 580F 135 Optimax
    CH 81 & 72 VHF