Thread: How many hours on your ETecs?

How many hours on your ETecs?

Is 900 hrs on a 2005 90 too much? It's well maintained with evidence to prove and was repowered with another Etec.
    What sort of hours are you getting trouble free on your ETecs?

Re: How many hours on your ETecs?

got a v4 ficht. 1000 hrs.
    no problems

2012 115 HO, 139 hours and hasn't missed a beat. I need to go fishing more!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2010 115 HO, 480 hours and hasn't missed a beat. I need to go fishing more!

my mate has 873 hours on his 2005 90 etec, one injector has been replaced at around 750 hours, Still running sweet.
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Been advised by an expert in Etecs to run away as fast as I can, so no Etec for me!

with those hrs, i wouldnt be keen either.

Has anyone ever posted big hours? I remember one bloke of THT had over 4000 hrs on an Optimax, but most people seem to swap etecs out with very low hours? I personally don't consider 1000 hrs on a properly maintained outboard to be worth mentioning, but that's just me...

2015 HO 90 150 Hours and hasn't missed a beat

Yep a lot of "experts" out there when it comes to ETECs. Was his/her expert advice based on the hours and condition of the motor or just a blind prejudice against ETECs in general.

Twin 90 2004 just under 500.
    Port side is a little hard on plugs. Starboard had a small pin hole in a water line that dripped onto the starter motor and had to replace that.
    Otherwise both been good.
    Do try not to flog them tho.

I dont get the bad wrap on etec thing. Personally i havent seen it.
    Had a bad go with a merc tho. Doesn't mean i wouldnt buy another one

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Did he give a reason to run away? Most outboards will usually cark it because of corrosion related issues, more related to age than number of hours. A 12 year old motor could very well have a few issues starting to pop up, but that could also apply to other brands.

2012 130 etec- trim relay after about 100 hours- new powerhead under warranty at about 350 hours- 30 hours later new gearbox under warranty- BRP came to the party every time but it runs out of warranty this year....it has always got me home and performs well but i do regret buying it rather than spending a few more grand on a 4 stroke- new powerhead and gearbox if i can get another 5 years/ 500 hours reliably i will be happy...for mine a 12 year old 90hp etec would only be worth 2 or 3k maybe?

Different forum but relevant info. When it comes to high hour engines, a lot of it comes down to how the engine has been treated over its life, that's why I would probably never buy something with high hours unless I knew the owner.

http://www.thehulltruth.com/boating-...ou-have-2.html

http://www.thehulltruth.com/boating-...t-there.html#b

Got a 09 model 90hp with close to 800hrs on it with no issues.