Thread: Haines Signuture 600RF for offshore?

Haines Signuture 600RF for offshore?

Hi.
    I am a newbie to these forums and am pretty inexperienced. I have a powerboat licence but it has been inactive for 30 years!

My need is a trailerboat that can go offshore.
    In particular I want to go from Port Lincoln to Neptune Islands. I do not want to fish for sharks. I may want to sleep overnight.
    I will have other similar needs in other places. I am fine with sleeping on a deck on a bit of foam under the stars so do not need space wasted on toilets/beds etc.
    My plan is to become reacquainted with piloting such craft by taking experienced people with me until I get the knack again.

My question is, what sort of boat do I need for this type of use?
    I figure I need something at least 6m designed for offshore use.
    Being in SA where we have far fewer boats my choices are limited.
    I want to buy second hand around $50K max.

There is this ad

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/adel...0rf/1132876831

which might be a tad expensive but looks like the sort of boat I need.
    Port Lincoln to Neptunes is about 40 nautical miles.
    This boat has a 180L fuel capacity. Even at 25 knots 25 L/hour I figure I might need 50L there and another 50L back so should be well within capacity.

Question is - is this a reasonable option?
    My mate is an ex-pro fisherman who could surely answer this for me but I want it to be a surprise.
    Remember in SA I have few options so your ideal boat may not be available.
    I am looking to do this purchase quickly!
    All comments welcome.

Ausfish Silver Member

Re: Haines Signuture 600RF for offshore?

bugga the surprise,talk to your mate. For that price you should get a 4 stroke.
    We had a 650f with 200 4stk not a bad outside boat.
    best of luck looking.

G'day
    Another south ozzie here