Thread: Landline does the report on NFA'S

Landline does the report on NFA'S

Re: Landline does the report on NFA'S

Thanks bit long the Qld bit starts 20 minutes into it if you are short of time or data allowance.
    Ray

The Landline report certainly exposed the A.F.T.A. & all of their slimy hangers on ,for what a grubby money hungry mob that they really are.The LNP & the ALP also showed how easily that they can be bought out.The A.F.T.A. will obviously only have to put out a few million to get whatever they want-BIG PROFITS .
    The Greens & the A.B.C. both point out that it is all just a dirty vote grab ,& that the commercial fisherman are being ripped off just for a few importers to make bigger profits. I never thought I would see the day that The Greens & the A.B.C. would support commercial fisherman, even when it is sustainable fishing, & that is where all of the lies told by the rec. lobby fell over - it was said over & over again on the report that all of the commercial fishing was & is sustainable.
    The report shows up a dirty alliance between Sunfish, A.F.T.A. & no doubt other importers ,the LNP & THE ALP both trying to pick votes from the carcass of the commercial fisherman.From what I have heard from commercial fisherman in Moreton Bay you can add a couple of tunnel netters to this list as well.
    A couple of tunnel crews who are in league with the Qld ALP are the ones who received huge payouts from the MBMNP buyback, & then bought another licence & went straight back fishing. These same tunnel netters openly endorsed the Green zones for their ALP masters when the majority of fisherman [both commercial & rec. ] agreed that the green zones were totally useless & just another vote grab.I think it is really crook when tackle importers can make roughly 75% out of every piece of merchandise that they import out of China ,& then even that is not enough & they want to pay to get rid of their supposed opposition being small family fishing business
    ROLL ON THE ONE NATION PARTY IS ALL I CAN SAY.

Well considering that Victoria exports about $200m of seafood internationally, annually I highly doubt a few NFA's is going to stop Victorians from buying locally caught seafood. That line is a beat up I think. I don't have a problem with a small amount of netting in prime angling areas to provide local seafood.

I have a dimmer view of mullet netters netters that don't even go to human consumption taking tonnes and tonnes of mullet, mulloway, dart etc for catfood. Also I take a dimmer view of trawling in enclosed waters where sea grasses etc have no chance in prime breeding grounds.
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Quote Originally Posted by insidermb View Post
    ROLL ON THE ONE NATION PARTY IS ALL I CAN SAY.
    Thankfully that will more than likely not happen, and I doubt you would be employed by the government for much longer if it does
    what a sad sad AB

Somehow I think I will be here long after all of your little socialist mates are gone.

As for the old 'only used for catfood line' just read on the catfood tin & it will read product of Thailand .The export of fish overseas is the likes of tuna - caught in the ocean, not inshore waters.

I suppose what a Government must decide is what is the balance and what is the ideal outcome ?

We all know that votes count and rec and pro fishers have been on the end of a hammering due to preference votes in various elections.

I try to look at the big picture... some time into the future. With this in mind, what standard of fishery will we have in 2020 , 2030 and 2050 ?

With the commercial section stating and proving, their industry is sustainable, that is up to now. I don't believe the commercial industry will by itself, cause a decrease in bio-mass, but a combination of various pressures. Those pressures are building and they are population, development, habitat destruction, pollution and a stakeholder upswing.

Now, as a management entity, FQ and the Govt of the day are obliged to continually monitor and legislate the fishery with a couple of things in mind. One being the economics and the attributal economic input into the Qld economy. This is where the Recreational sector has the numbers and taking the emotion out of the equation, they are the major stakeholder, economically speaking. Having said that, the commercial sector are certainly a major stakeholder in the supply of seafood to local markets which is an economic plus. The exporting of our seafoods puts funds into the local economy, but not in the same way as rec fishing or pro fish to local markets. Again, look at this from an economic point of view and not personal.

The economic point of view goes hand in hand with the vote distribution and whether deals are done etc, as eluded to, is not the point of fishery management.

The reason the recreational sector speculates and uses anecdotal data is that no real and valid data can be collected which makes it hard for everyone concerned, to validate statements. But again, this is not the point. The point being the Govt need to address a problem they are being told about. Sure, any business wants to protect its client base, just as much as the commercial fisher wants to protect their livelihood.

I also understand and have seen many improvements in commercial methods over the years as it was necessary to adapt to not only public perception, but also fishery pressures.

What we all must understand is that times are changing and changing in ways that will see financial impacts on various people and business's. We can't stop this, but we can adapt, we can diversify and accept what is to be.

While my personal view is that net buy backs, size limits, bag limits and closures are band-aid practices, I have always believed we are going about our fishery management the wrong way. It may be wrong, because the Govt is financially constrained in regard to addressing the issues in a proactive way. It may be the Govt like to take the easy way out and pitch Recs against Pro's.. the old divide and conquer game. At all times remember, a Govt WILL seek the best outcome for THEMSELVES.

Net Free Zones and licence buy backs are coming, you can take that to the bank. How the commercial folks deal with this will determine their survival. As noted, some have sold a licence back and purchased new ones, or leased other ones and continued on as if nothing changed, except for a big $'s deposit into their accounts. Some will not fare as well

The very real and proven game changer for our fishery ( inshore ) is runoff, pollution, habitat destruction and development, which ALL falls at the feet of the State Government in so much as they have complete control over how much they destroy our fishery, yet will proclaim rec and pro fishers are the evil entities.

The commercial sector need to lift their public image and attempt to be recognized as environmental stewards, as the recreational sector has been doing for a number years. Remember that recreational fishing in Queensland has no peak representative body and relys of lobbying efforts to get heard and even so, recreational fishers have no management within FQ, as opposed to commercial fishers that sit at the table with MQ and FQ and other influential entities. But again, this is not the issue.

Anecdotal evidence says the fishery is in trouble, the pro sector say it is sustainable and FQ do what they do, so I suppose the next question is to the commercial sector . " What do you believe is the status of the fishery from an holistic point of view ? " and if you find yourself questioning the data " What do believe can be done to address the problem ? "

I really can see both ( well really 3 sides ) to this issue and have my own ideas, but I am not the manager of the fishery.

LP ><>

Hang on now, was not Sunfish ( totally backed by Ausfish) all set to get rid of the evil meshnetters in Moreton Bay . Tar & feathering was too good for them.
    Now you think everyone must all join together in a common cause .Do you think commercial fisherman will trust you. Even I think the B/S has risen to waist height.
    As stated before I work on the water , & I do quite a bit of rec. fishing myself.I just hate it when the underdog gets shafted , especially on a lot of lies & the whole pack joins in for a free kick in the guts.
    Just look at the simpletons that bring up the 'only used for catfood ' rubbish time & time again because the read it somewhere 20 years ago &think it is true.
    How about the shamateurs that are paying for their boat, topping up the pension, the dole is not enough, etc,& all Sunfish can do is attack a small group of hard working people with falsehoods.
    I know the licence fees for a net ,line & crab operation costs approx $1500.00 per year.
    Why not -
    1. Bring in a rec licence @ $ 20.00 per year.
    2. Use rec. fees for 1. Restocking bream & whiting .
    2. Voluntry buyback of commercial licences- NOT FORCED BUYBACKS.
    3. Stop tunnel netting as this is where the real damage is being done, despite the propaganda of both Sunfish & a certain couple of tunnel netters.
    4. Any shamateur caught gets to lose his boat & car & pay a hefty fine.
    Just for the exercise look on the Moreton Bay fishing reports on another website about mackerel fishing in Moreton Bay .There are a couple of bros. that are now using 3 boats to catch & sell blackmarket mackerel , in their own words - using 1 boat to ferry back the illegal catch so they can keep fishing & appear legal.Obviously they are blatant enough to skite about it without fear of Qld Fisheries.That is just the tip of the iceberg.

Quote Originally Posted by Insidermb
    Just look at the simpletons that bring up the 'only used for catfood ' rubbish time & time again because the read it somewhere 20 years ago &think it is true.

Really? So tonnes of mullet sitting in the tray of a ute baking in the sun for hours are going to human consumption? Please let me know where those are sold so I can avoid it.

Hang on now, was not Sunfish ( totally backed by Ausfish)( Ausfish is just a forum with a lot of members and has no representative body or seats on Govt committees ) all set to get rid of the evil meshnetters in Moreton Bay . Tar & feathering was too good for them. ( probably a view of a couple of members only )
    Now you think everyone must all join together in a common cause . ( I personally have stated this for many years here and on FQ working groups and committees ) Do you think commercial fisherman will trust you. ( Why not ? as I said, only the pro's have representation in FQ and MQ ) Even I think the B/S has risen to waist height.

As stated before I work on the water , & I do quite a bit of rec. fishing myself.I just hate it when the underdog gets shafted , ( we all do and also as i stated, recs and pro's ahve been shafted numerous times over the years by State Govt's ) especially on a lot of lies & the whole pack joins in for a free kick in the guts.
    How about the shamateurs that are paying for their boat, topping up the pension, the dole is not enough, etc,& all Sunfish can do is attack a small group of hard working people with falsehoods. ( Sunfish do far far more than what you state here.. )
    I know the licence fees for a net ,line & crab operation costs approx $1500.00 per year.

Why not -

1. Bring in a rec licence @ $ 20.00 per year. Not interested, my thoughts on this are well known and stated on Ausfish many, many times, with good reasons.
    2. Use rec. fees for 1. Restocking bream & whiting . Never work due to management costs... that would eat up licence fees or get siphoned into general Revenue
    2. Voluntary buyback of commercial licences- NOT FORCED BUYBACKS. yes, if the uptake reduced effort
    3. Stop tunnel netting as this is where the real damage is being done, despite the propaganda of both Sunfish & a certain couple of tunnel netters. Yep
    4. Any shamateur caught gets to lose his boat & car & pay a hefty fine. Yep....... definately

Just for the exercise look on the Moreton Bay fishing reports on another website about mackerel fishing in Moreton Bay .There are a couple of bros. that are now using 3 boats to catch & sell blackmarket mackerel , in their own words - using 1 boat to ferry back the illegal catch so they can keep fishing & appear legal.Obviously they are blatant enough to skite about it without fear of Qld Fisheries.That is just the tip of the iceberg ( Have you reported this to FQ ? ) .
    In effect we are all stakeholders in the fishery and I sincerely believe we need to work together to achieve an outcome that is good for rec, pro's and the fishery itself. If the pro's and rec's can provide FQ & State Govt with a united proposal, it can be implemented quicker than having the argy-bargy that has been the downfall of the industry for many years. Despite what people write here, I firmly believe all rec's understand the need for a commercial industry that is accountable, transparent and in the best interests of Qld. The rec industry needs to tidy up the Shamaetuers , but with no rec fishery manager in FQ, I see an issue. Until we ( rec fishers ) get our manager back, we need to be united and proactive with the commercial industry and Sunfish will back this, with productive and congenial talks.

Oh, and thanks for your input, it is appreciated

cheers LP

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post
    Really? So tonnes of mullet sitting in the tray of a ute baking in the sun for hours are going to human consumption? Please let me know where those are sold so I can avoid it.[/COLOR]

Thailand-Imported & sold in coles , woolies , etc.

So our beach netters product is going where exactly?

Bait wholesalers, export, local and interstate seafood wholesalers and retailers.